Onyx Protocol Review: Is Its XCN Staking Worth Using?
Onyx Protocol is presented as a lending protocol, but its app currently foregrounds XCN liquid staking. Check which features and network are live, and confirm costs and contract details before connecting a wallet.
By the SkyBitcoins review team · Updated
Quick take
Onyx may suit XCN holders who want to explore liquid staking: its app offers a flow to stake XCN for stXCN and shows an APR. The main reason to use it is access to that staking feature alongside a broader DeFi app. Before depositing, confirm the live network, contract address, transaction costs and current staking terms; the app’s displayed information does not make those details clear.
Ratings
How Onyx Protocol rates
- Trust
- 4.0/10
- Track record, licensing, audits and how your funds are held.
- Value
- n/a
- Fees, odds, rewards and bonuses: what you get for your money.
- Usability
- 5.0/10
- How easy it is to sign up, deposit, play or trade, and withdraw.
- Transparency
- 3.5/10
- How clearly the team, terms, fees and risks are disclosed.
Ratings run from 0 to 10 and use only facts we could check. Where the information isn't public we show n/a instead of guessing.
At a glance
Onyx Protocol key facts
| Type | DeFi protocol; lending and liquid staking |
|---|---|
| Token | XCN; staking receipt token is stXCN |
| Staking network | Onyx network, ID 327 in the app |
| Audits | Two are listed; details are not specified |
| Status | Active |
| Value locked | $22.9K−11.2% 7d |
| Updated |
Is it for you?
Who Onyx Protocol suits
Good for
- XCN holders considering liquid staking who are comfortable checking live APR and contract details
- DeFi users who want to explore Onyx’s staking and broader ecosystem app
- Experienced wallet users willing to verify the network and transaction costs themselves
Not for
- Beginners who need clear, published fees and step-by-step risk disclosures before staking
- Users looking for a clearly documented set of lending markets, supported assets and loan terms
- Anyone unwilling to verify contract addresses, network settings and audit scope before depositing
What can you actually do with Onyx?
Onyx is described as a decentralized liquidity and lending protocol, but the app’s visible staking page gives a more concrete picture of what you can do right now: stake XCN and receive stXCN, which the app calls Liquid Staked XCN. It also presents staking history and a view of your balance, underlying XCN value and earnings after you connect a wallet.
The app navigation lists other areas, including swap, bridge, farm and governance, as well as points and an AI agent. A menu entry is not enough to confirm that a feature is live or to establish its terms. In particular, the displayed app information does not identify lending markets, collateral rules, borrow rates or supported assets. Treat lending as a claimed protocol capability, not a fully explained offer, until you can inspect its live market details and documentation.
What might staking or using Onyx cost?
The staking page displays an APR and estimated daily earnings, but it does not give a fixed rate in the information shown. These are not guaranteed returns: rates can change, and the value of XCN and stXCN can fluctuate. Check the live estimate and the rules for unstaking before you commit funds.
Specific protocol fees are not published in the app’s displayed staking flow. Before approving a transaction, inspect your wallet’s confirmation screen for the network fee, token amount and destination contract. For any lending, swap, bridge or farming feature, check that feature’s own fee and rate disclosures rather than assuming the staking screen’s terms apply. The value of Onyx cannot be scored confidently without clear, comparable fee information and the conditions attached to each product.
How much should you trust Onyx with funds?
Two audits are listed for Onyx, but their names, dates, contract coverage and findings are not specified. Ask whether the contracts you plan to use are included, and read the findings and any unresolved issues rather than treating an audit count as a safety guarantee. The project’s app provides links to terms, privacy information and documentation, but that alone does not establish the quality of its security controls.
The staking flow asks you to connect a wallet and shows your own position after connection; it does not describe a custodial account. That is not a guarantee against smart-contract risk, malicious approvals or wallet compromise. The licensing status, named team information and any incident history are not established by the displayed app details. Verify the official contract addresses and understand the permissions requested before signing.
Which wallet and network does the app use?
The app presents a wallet-based staking interface with controls for choosing an XCN amount, staking or unstaking, and viewing transaction history. It also offers percentage shortcuts and a Max option. You need to connect a compatible wallet to see your balance and position; the displayed page does not identify a particular wallet provider or publish speed guarantees.
Pay particular attention to the network. The staking interface identifies the Onyx network as ID 327, while Onyx lending is also categorized as an Ethereum product. Confirm the network required for the exact feature you intend to use, and do not rely on a token or network label alone to validate a contract. The app identifies stXCN as a token on the Onyx network. Mobile support, transaction timing and a dedicated mobile app are not established by the displayed information.
What should you check before using Onyx?
The main limitation is a gap between the broad lending description and the specific staking flow users can inspect. Without published lending assets, collateral requirements, liquidation rules, borrow rates and fees, you cannot make a sound comparison with other lending markets. The staking screen also does not explain the unstaking timeline, any withdrawal constraints or how stXCN’s value tracks underlying XCN.
Do not assume that every menu item is ready to use or that the displayed APR will persist. Look for current product documentation and contract addresses before connecting, then make sure the wallet’s transaction matches the action you intend. If the terms, network or costs remain unclear, wait rather than approving a transaction you cannot assess.
5 steps
How to start with Onyx Protocol
- 1
Open the official Onyx app and use its documentation to identify the feature and current contract address you intend to use.
- 2
Confirm the required network for that specific feature; the staking screen identifies Onyx network ID 327.
- 3
Connect a wallet only after checking that the app and network details match what you expect.
- 4
Review the live APR, unstaking conditions and wallet transaction estimate, including network fees and approvals.
- 5
If you proceed, consider starting with an amount you can afford to risk and keep the transaction record for reference.
Onyx Protocol FAQs
What can you do with Onyx Protocol?
The Onyx app displays a liquid-staking flow where you stake XCN and receive stXCN. The protocol is also described as supporting lending, but the app’s displayed information does not spell out lending markets or their terms.
How does Onyx XCN staking work?
The app says staking XCN gives you stXCN, a liquid-staking token, and displays an APR and estimated daily earnings. Those figures depend on current conditions; check the live app and transaction details before staking.
What fees does Onyx Protocol charge?
The app does not publish specific fee amounts in the displayed staking flow. You should review the wallet’s transaction estimate before approving, including any network fee and the amount of XCN being staked.
Has Onyx Protocol been audited?
Two audits are listed for the protocol, but their names, scope, dates and findings are not provided here. An audit listing alone does not establish that the current app or every contract is safe, so verify the relevant audit and contract addresses before depositing.
Which network does Onyx use?
The app’s staking panel identifies the Onyx network as network ID 327. Other project listings categorize Onyx lending on Ethereum, so check the network shown in your wallet and the specific feature’s documentation before you transact.
Compare
Onyx Protocol alternatives
Aave offers open crypto lending and borrowing, but variable rates, gas costs and liquidation risk make it best for informed DeFi users.
Aave V3 offers non-custodial lending and collateralised borrowing, but rates vary and deposits remain exposed to DeFi and liquidation risks.
Compound V3 offers variable-rate crypto lending across several networks, but market terms and liquidation risks require close checking.
Aave V4 offers non-custodial lending and collateralized borrowing, but rates vary and smart-contract, market and liquidation risks remain.
Euler V2 offers configurable lending markets across many chains, but check each vault’s rates, liquidity and liquidation rules before depositing.
Morpho Blue offers non-custodial lending markets and curated vaults, but rates change and supplied assets face smart-contract, oracle and market risks.
Same category
More Lending dApps
SparkLend offers governance-set on-chain borrowing rates, but check each market’s live terms and liquidation risks before supplying collateral.
Morpho offers variable-rate and fixed-term lending plus curated vaults, but check each product’s fees, terms and risks before depositing.
Euler offers flexible crypto lending and market-building tools, but check each market’s fees, collateral rules and risks before depositing.
Nolus offers fixed-rate, asset-backed spot margin, but check live borrowing costs and liquidation terms before using leverage.
Dolomite offers multi-network lending, borrowing, swaps and strategies, but variable rates, liquidation and contract risks call for care.
NAVI offers variable-rate lending and collateralized borrowing on Sui, but users must weigh liquidation, smart-contract and liquidity risks.
Same chain
More on Ethereum
Lido turns staked ETH into liquid stETH, but variable rewards, a 10% reward fee and withdrawal and contract risks need checking.
Bitvavo offers euro funding, 400+ crypto assets and Pro Mode, but check withdrawal terms and the separate risks of staking and leverage.
GetBlock suits teams needing multi-chain RPC and data services, but check usage billing, coverage and SLA terms before relying on it in production.
Uniswap offers wallet-based swaps and liquidity pools across 15+ networks, but pool fees, gas and self-custody risks still matter.
Arbitrum Bridge is a direct way to move supported assets between Ethereum and Arbitrum One, but Ethereum withdrawals typically take around seven days.
Uniswap V2 enables wallet-based swaps and liquidity provision, but check the pool, network, gas and token risks before you trade.
How we checked
Sources
Last updated . Spotted an error? Tell us and we will correct it.