Skip to content
SparkLend logo
LendingActive

SparkLend Review: Is It Right for Your Borrowing?

SparkLend is an on-chain lending market for borrowing against digital assets, with rates set by governance rather than adjusted for utilization or loan size. Check the current rate, collateral rules and liquidation terms for your chosen market before depositing.

By the SkyBitcoins review team · Updated

SkyBitcoins rating

Quick take

SparkLend suits DeFi users who want to borrow stablecoins against digital assets and prefer governance-set rates. Its main distinction is that rates are not adjusted for utilization or loan size. Before depositing collateral, check the live rate, supported assets, liquidation threshold and network in the app; audit listings alone do not make a lending market risk-free.

Ratings

How SparkLend rates

Trust
6.0/10
Track record, licensing, audits and how your funds are held.
Value
6.5/10
Fees, odds, rewards and bonuses: what you get for your money.
Usability
6.0/10
How easy it is to sign up, deposit, play or trade, and withdraw.
Transparency
7.0/10
How clearly the team, terms, fees and risks are disclosed.

Ratings run from 0 to 10 and use only facts we could check. Where the information isn't public we show n/a instead of guessing.

At a glance

SparkLend key facts

SparkLend key facts
TypeOn-chain lending market
NetworksEthereum and Gnosis
TokenSPK
RatesGovernance-defined
AuditsTwo audits listed; details not specified
StatusActive
Value locked$5.00B+1.1% 7d
Updated

Is it for you?

Who SparkLend suits

Good for

  • DeFi users looking to borrow stablecoins against supported crypto collateral
  • Borrowers who prefer governance-set rates over rates that move with utilization
  • Users already comfortable managing wallets and smart-contract risks on Ethereum or Gnosis

Not for

  • Anyone who needs a guaranteed interest rate or protection from governance changes
  • Users who cannot tolerate collateral liquidation or smart-contract risk
  • People who want a conventional lender with published fees, support and borrower protections

What can you borrow through SparkLend?

SparkLend is Spark’s on-chain borrowing market. You can borrow stablecoins against supported digital-asset collateral; Spark highlights borrowing USDS and describes the market as supporting multiple collateral types. The specific collateral and borrowable assets can differ by market, so check the app and documentation rather than assuming an asset is supported on every network.

The main difference Spark emphasizes is how it sets rates: governance defines them, and they do not change with utilization or the size of an individual loan. That can make the rate less sensitive to market usage than a utilization-based model, but it does not mean the rate is fixed forever. Governance can change parameters, and rates and collateral conditions may differ across markets. Spark also offers Savings and other products, but those are separate from borrowing through SparkLend.

What does borrowing on SparkLend cost?

SparkLend’s costs include the borrowing interest rate and the network transaction costs for supplying collateral, borrowing, repaying or withdrawing. The rate is governance-defined, but a current rate by asset is not specified here. Check the app before taking a position and keep track of the rate and any market parameter changes while your loan is open.

You will also need to account for the cost of moving assets between networks if your funds are not already on Ethereum or Gnosis. Network fees vary with conditions and are separate from the loan rate. Spark’s rate design avoids changes based on utilization or loan size, but that does not guarantee the cheapest borrowing option: compare the actual rate, collateral requirements and total transaction costs with other choices. Check for any displayed fees or terms in the transaction flow before confirming.

How much trust should you place in SparkLend?

Using SparkLend means relying on on-chain contracts and the rules of the market you choose. If collateral value falls far enough relative to your debt, liquidation may be possible; understand the market’s collateral thresholds and liquidation terms before borrowing, and leave a buffer rather than borrowing to the limit. Smart-contract, oracle and market risks remain even when a protocol has been audited.

Spark lists two audits, but their scope, dates and findings are not specified here. Read the audit reports and check whether they cover the contracts you plan to use. Spark’s site identifies its products as powered by Sky, but a relationship to a wider ecosystem is not a guarantee of repayment or protection against losses. Licensing, custody arrangements and incident history are not specified here; do not treat the SPK token or an audit listing as a safety guarantee.

What should you check before connecting a wallet?

SparkLend is listed on Ethereum and Gnosis. Select the network that matches the market and assets you intend to use, and confirm your wallet is connected to the correct chain before signing anything. Network support does not mean every asset or market is available on both chains. Check the app for the current list and the exact contract interactions before proceeding.

You will need to manage a crypto wallet and approve on-chain transactions. Supplying collateral, borrowing, repaying and withdrawing can each require a transaction and network fees. Keep enough of the network’s native asset for fees, and inspect each wallet prompt rather than signing approvals you do not understand. Spark provides documentation and data dashboards, which can help you check product and market information. No mobile-app details or transaction-speed guarantees are specified here; on-chain confirmation time depends on network conditions.

Who should choose another way to borrow?

SparkLend is not a bank loan: you supply crypto collateral, use a wallet and accept smart-contract and liquidation risks. It is a poor fit if you need predictable consumer-credit protections, a published all-in borrowing cost, or a guarantee that your collateral cannot be liquidated. Governance-defined rates are not the same as permanently fixed rates, so you should be prepared for parameter changes.

Spark does not specify a KYC policy, licence, or custody arrangement in the project details here. If those are essential to your decision, resolve them with Spark before using the product. Compare the current borrowing rate and collateral terms with alternatives, and avoid depositing funds you cannot afford to lose. SparkLend is most suitable for users who understand on-chain lending and can monitor a position, not for someone seeking a set-and-forget place to hold savings.

4 steps

How to start with SparkLend

  1. 1

    Read Spark’s current documentation and audit reports; confirm the market and assets you intend to use.

  2. 2

    Check the live rate, collateral requirements and liquidation terms for that market before supplying funds.

  3. 3

    Use a wallet you control, select Ethereum or Gnosis as appropriate, and verify the network and transaction details.

  4. 4

    Start with an amount you can afford to risk, keep funds available for network fees, and monitor your collateral position.

SparkLend FAQs

What is SparkLend?

SparkLend is an on-chain lending market within Spark. It lets users borrow stablecoins against supported digital-asset collateral, and the homepage specifically promotes borrowing USDS. Check the app and documentation for the assets and terms currently available on each network.

How are SparkLend interest rates set?

SparkLend’s rates are governance-defined and, according to its description, do not vary with utilization or loan size. The current rate for a particular asset is not published in the project details here, so check the live market before borrowing.

Which networks does SparkLend support?

SparkLend is listed on Ethereum and Gnosis. Confirm that the market you plan to use is available on your chosen network, and that your wallet has the correct network and compatible assets before interacting.

Has SparkLend been audited?

Spark lists two audits, but their scope, dates and findings are not specified here. An audit does not remove smart-contract or liquidation risk; review the audit reports and current collateral and liquidation parameters before depositing.

Does SparkLend require KYC?

Spark does not publish a KYC policy in the project details here. DeFi apps generally involve interacting with smart contracts through a wallet, but access requirements can vary. Check Spark’s current terms and any local rules before using it.

Compare

SparkLend alternatives

All alternatives

Aave

Lending

Score 7.7 out of 10

Aave offers open crypto lending and borrowing, but variable rates, gas costs and liquidation risk make it best for informed DeFi users.

Ethereum
Aave V3 logo

Aave V3

Lending

Score 7.6 out of 10

Aave V3 offers non-custodial lending and collateralised borrowing, but rates vary and deposits remain exposed to DeFi and liquidation risks.

TVL $15.8B+3.4%Ethereum · Base · Arbitrum +18
Compound V3 logoScore 7.2 out of 10

Compound V3 offers variable-rate crypto lending across several networks, but market terms and liquidation risks require close checking.

TVL $1.25B−3.3%Ethereum · Arbitrum · Base +7
Aave V4 logo

Aave V4

Lending

Score 7.1 out of 10

Aave V4 offers non-custodial lending and collateralized borrowing, but rates vary and smart-contract, market and liquidation risks remain.

TVL $810M+19.1%Ethereum · Arc · Avalanche +1
Euler V2 logo

Euler V2

Lending

Score 7.1 out of 10

Euler V2 offers configurable lending markets across many chains, but check each vault’s rates, liquidity and liquidation rules before depositing.

TVL $267M−0.9%Monad · Ethereum · Base +13
Morpho Blue logoScore 7.0 out of 10

Morpho Blue offers non-custodial lending markets and curated vaults, but rates change and supplied assets face smart-contract, oracle and market risks.

TVL $10.9B−0.4%Ethereum · Base · Robinhood Chain +41

Same category

More Lending dApps

Lending rankings

Morpho

Lending

Score 6.8 out of 10

Morpho offers variable-rate and fixed-term lending plus curated vaults, but check each product’s fees, terms and risks before depositing.

Ethereum · Base
Euler Finance logoScore 6.8 out of 10

Euler offers flexible crypto lending and market-building tools, but check each market’s fees, collateral rules and risks before depositing.

Ethereum
Nolus Protocol logoScore 6.6 out of 10

Nolus offers fixed-rate, asset-backed spot margin, but check live borrowing costs and liquidation terms before using leverage.

TVL $457K−1.4%Solana · Neutron · Osmosis
Dolomite logo

Dolomite

Lending

Score 6.5 out of 10

Dolomite offers multi-network lending, borrowing, swaps and strategies, but variable rates, liquidation and contract risks call for care.

TVL $142M−19.6%Ethereum · Arbitrum · Berachain +4
NAVI Lending logoScore 6.5 out of 10

NAVI offers variable-rate lending and collateralized borrowing on Sui, but users must weigh liquidation, smart-contract and liquidity risks.

TVL $126M−11.2%Sui
Inverse Finance logoScore 6.5 out of 10

Inverse Finance offers fixed-rate DOLA borrowing and sDOLA yield on Ethereum, but check current costs, collateral rules and smart-contract risks first.

Ethereum

Same chain

More on Ethereum

Ethereum rankings
Lido logo

Lido

Staking Pool

Score 7.8 out of 10

Lido turns staked ETH into liquid stETH, but variable rewards, a 10% reward fee and withdrawal and contract risks need checking.

TVL $21.7B−1.1%Ethereum · Solana · Terra +2
Bitvavo logo

Bitvavo

Centralized Exchanges

Score 7.7 out of 10

Bitvavo offers euro funding, 400+ crypto assets and Pro Mode, but check withdrawal terms and the separate risks of staking and leverage.

TVL $311M−13.3%Ethereum · Bitcoin · Solana +9
Getblock logo

Getblock

Infrastructure

Score 7.4 out of 10

GetBlock suits teams needing multi-chain RPC and data services, but check usage billing, coverage and SLA terms before relying on it in production.

Bitcoin · XRP Ledger · Ethereum +3
Uniswap logo

Uniswap

DEXes

Score 7.4 out of 10

Uniswap offers wallet-based swaps and liquidity pools across 15+ networks, but pool fees, gas and self-custody risks still matter.

Ethereum · Base · Arbitrum +2
Arbitrum Bridge logo

Arbitrum Bridge

Canonical Bridge

Score 7.2 out of 10

Arbitrum Bridge is a direct way to move supported assets between Ethereum and Arbitrum One, but Ethereum withdrawals typically take around seven days.

TVL $3.27B−1.7%Ethereum
Uniswap V2 logoScore 7.2 out of 10

Uniswap V2 enables wallet-based swaps and liquidity provision, but check the pool, network, gas and token risks before you trade.

TVL $865M−5.9%Ethereum · Base · Polygon +14

How we checked

Sources

  1. defillama.com/protocol/sparklend(opens in a new tab)

Last updated . Spotted an error? Tell us and we will correct it.