Armitage by Wintermute Review: Is It Worth Using?
Armitage curates Ethereum Morpho lending vaults, but its fees and audit details are not disclosed and it is not regulated. Check your eligibility and each vault’s risks before depositing.
By the SkyBitcoins review team · Updated
Quick take
Armitage may suit experienced DeFi users who want to compare Ethereum Morpho lending vaults for USDC, USDT or WBTC. Its appeal is Wintermute’s vault curation and the displayed collateral exposure, but yields vary and the fee schedule is not published. Before depositing, check your eligibility, the vault’s collateral and liquidity, and the fact that Armitage is not regulated and does not disclose an audit.
Ratings
How Armitage by Wintermute rates
- Trust
- 4.0/10
- Track record, licensing, audits and how your funds are held.
- Value
- 5.0/10
- Fees, odds, rewards and bonuses: what you get for your money.
- Usability
- 6.0/10
- How easy it is to sign up, deposit, play or trade, and withdraw.
- Transparency
- 5.0/10
- How clearly the team, terms, fees and risks are disclosed.
Ratings run from 0 to 10 and use only facts we could check. Where the information isn't public we show n/a instead of guessing.
At a glance
Armitage by Wintermute key facts
| Type | Onchain vault curator |
|---|---|
| Protocol | Morpho vaults on Ethereum |
| Assets | USDC, USDT and WBTC vaults |
| Token | None |
| Regulation | Not authorised or regulated |
| Custody | Armitage says it does not custody assets |
| Fees | Fee schedule not published |
| Company | Corto Industries Limited, Cayman Islands |
| Chains | Ethereum |
| Value locked | $97.8M+13.7% 7d |
| Updated |
Is it for you?
Who Armitage by Wintermute suits
Good for
- Experienced DeFi users comparing Ethereum Morpho lending vaults
- USDC, USDT or WBTC holders seeking onchain lending exposure
- Users comfortable checking collateral, liquidity and variable yield themselves
Not for
- US or UK residents, as Armitage says its information and vaults are not intended for them
- People who need a regulated provider or customer-protection schemes
- Beginners who cannot assess lending, collateral and smart-contract risks
- Users who need published fees, audits or withdrawal timelines before deciding
What do Armitage’s Morpho vaults let you do?
Armitage is Wintermute’s onchain vault-curation operation. It selects Morpho lending vaults on Ethereum and displays information such as accepted asset, collateral exposure, total value locked and net APY. Listed vaults include options for USDC, USDT and WBTC, with different vault groups and risk profiles. You deposit into a vault to make assets available for lending; the yield depends on borrowing demand and the vault’s strategy, so it can change and is not guaranteed.
Armitage says its risk process draws on Wintermute’s trading and liquidation capabilities. That is a description of its approach, not a guarantee against losses. Review each vault individually: check what collateral backs the loans, how much is borrowed, and whether you could tolerate a fall in collateral value or reduced liquidity. No Armitage token is listed.
What will an Armitage deposit cost you?
Armitage does not publish a fee schedule on its website, so you cannot calculate the full cost from a public rate card. Check the chosen vault’s details for any vault-level charges before you deposit; a displayed net APY should not be treated as a guaranteed return or as a substitute for understanding how fees are applied.
You will also pay Ethereum gas for onchain actions such as approving a token and depositing or withdrawing. Gas varies with network demand. Your actual return can differ from a displayed APY as lending rates and vault utilisation change, and asset prices can move. For stablecoins, a depeg can still reduce the value of your deposit; WBTC also carries Bitcoin price exposure. Compare the potential yield with these costs and risks rather than choosing on APY alone.
How much protection does Armitage provide?
Armitage identifies Corto Industries Limited, a Cayman Islands company, as the entity behind the service and states that it is not authorised or regulated by a regulatory authority. It also says it does not manage, hold or custody customer assets. Deposits are made through onchain vaults, but that does not make them risk-free or provide the protections associated with a regulated financial provider.
Armitage does not disclose an audit in the project information presented here. Before using a vault, look for current audit details for the relevant contracts and understand what those audits cover; an audit would not eliminate vulnerabilities. Other risks include smart-contract bugs, oracle failures, collateral price drops, liquidations and a shortage of available liquidity when you want to withdraw. Armitage says its information is directed at people with professional investment experience, and its vaults are not intended for people residing in the United States or the United Kingdom. Check local law and eligibility before connecting a wallet.
How do you use an Armitage vault safely?
The listed vaults run on Ethereum and use assets including USDC, USDT and WBTC. You will need an Ethereum-compatible wallet holding the relevant token, plus ETH to pay gas. The site presents vault choices with yield and other information; check the current vault page and its collateral exposure before selecting one. Those displayed figures can change.
To deposit, connect your wallet, select a vault, review its details, approve the token allowance if required, and confirm the deposit transaction. Withdrawals also require an onchain transaction and gas. Armitage’s website does not publish withdrawal limits or timing, and access to funds may depend on vault liquidity. Make a small test transaction only if its costs are reasonable, and keep enough ETH for later actions. Do not share your seed phrase or sign a wallet request you do not understand.
When should you choose something else?
The main trade-off is limited public detail about costs and safeguards. Armitage does not publish a fee schedule, withdrawal limits or timing, and it does not disclose an audit in the project information presented here. Its lack of regulatory authorisation also means you should not expect the compensation or ombudsman protections that may apply to regulated firms.
This is not a simple savings account: your assets are exposed to lending-market, collateral, contract and liquidity risks, and the displayed yield can change. The vaults are on Ethereum, so users seeking other chains will need a different service. Armitage specifically says its information and vaults are not intended for US or UK residents; do not proceed if you fall within those restrictions. If you need predictable access, a regulated provider or independently documented fees and audits, choose another option.
5 steps
How to start with Armitage by Wintermute
- 1
Check that Armitage’s stated jurisdictional restrictions and local rules allow you to use the service; it says its vaults are not intended for US or UK residents.
- 2
Use an Ethereum-compatible wallet and confirm you hold the exact asset accepted by the vault, plus ETH for gas.
- 3
Compare vault collateral exposure, lending conditions and current liquidity; do not choose based only on the displayed APY.
- 4
Check the vault’s current terms for fees, audit details and withdrawal conditions, which Armitage does not fully publish.
- 5
Connect your wallet, approve only the required token allowance, and confirm the deposit only after reviewing the transaction.
Armitage by Wintermute FAQs
What is Armitage by Wintermute?
Armitage selects and oversees onchain Morpho vaults on Ethereum. The vaults accept assets such as USDC, USDT and WBTC, and display yield and collateral exposure; returns can change.
How do you deposit into an Armitage vault?
You need an Ethereum-compatible wallet and the asset accepted by your chosen vault. Connect your wallet, review the vault’s collateral and terms, then approve and confirm the deposit transaction. You will also need ETH for network gas.
Can you withdraw from an Armitage vault?
Armitage’s website includes a withdrawal option, but it does not publish withdrawal limits or timing. Onchain vault withdrawals can depend on available liquidity, so check the vault’s current conditions before depositing.
What fees does Armitage charge?
Armitage does not publish a fee schedule on its website. Ethereum gas applies to transactions, and you should check the specific vault’s details for any vault-level fees before depositing.
Is Armitage regulated or audited?
Armitage says it is not authorised or regulated by a regulatory authority and does not custody customer assets. It does not disclose an audit in the information presented about the project, so those statements do not remove smart-contract, market or liquidity risks.
Compare
Armitage by Wintermute alternatives
Gauntlet offers curated, non-custodial DeFi yield vaults, but check each vault’s fees, risks and withdrawal terms before depositing.
9Summits offers non-custodial, curated DeFi vaults, but check each strategy’s fees, contracts and withdrawal terms before depositing.
Yearn vaults automate and compound DeFi strategies, but fees, risks and supported assets vary by vault.
Alterscope offers DeFi market risk data and monitoring, but check its fees, chain coverage and any vault's terms before relying on it.
KPK offers managed onchain funds, vaults and treasury services, but check product fees, withdrawal terms and risk details before allocating.
Clearstar offers tailored DeFi risk advice and product support, but get its fees, custody terms and operating authority in writing.
Same category
More Risk Curators
Block Analitica offers DeFi risk analytics and consulting for protocol teams, but you’ll need to confirm scope, fees and methods directly.
Avantgarde offers curated USDC and WETH lending vaults on Morpho, but variable yields, unpublished fees and contract risk call for careful checks.
Steakhouse Financial curates noncustodial DeFi lending vaults, but check each vault’s fees, risks and terms before depositing.
Anthias Labs offers DeFi risk advisory, monitoring and research, but publishs no pricing or independent audit details.
AlphaPing offers Morpho lending vaults, but yields vary, withdrawals depend on liquidity and no audits are listed.
K3 Capital offers managed DeFi strategies, but unclear fees, custody and investor terms make careful due diligence essential.
Same chain
More on Ethereum
Lido turns staked ETH into liquid stETH, but variable rewards, a 10% reward fee and withdrawal and contract risks need checking.
Bitvavo offers euro funding, 400+ crypto assets and Pro Mode, but check withdrawal terms and the separate risks of staking and leverage.
Aave offers open crypto lending and borrowing, but variable rates, gas costs and liquidation risk make it best for informed DeFi users.
Aave V3 offers non-custodial lending and collateralised borrowing, but rates vary and deposits remain exposed to DeFi and liquidation risks.
GetBlock suits teams needing multi-chain RPC and data services, but check usage billing, coverage and SLA terms before relying on it in production.
Uniswap offers wallet-based swaps and liquidity pools across 15+ networks, but pool fees, gas and self-custody risks still matter.
How we checked
Sources
Last updated . Spotted an error? Tell us and we will correct it.