Skip to content
Aave Arc logo
LendingActive

Aave Arc Review: Is Its Institutional Lending Market Right for You?

Aave Arc is a KYC-gated Aave lending market intended for institutions. Its core use is clear, but Arc-specific access, costs and safeguards are not fully documented.

By the SkyBitcoins review team · Updated

SkyBitcoins rating

Quick take

Aave Arc may suit institutions seeking a KYC-gated Ethereum market for supplying assets or borrowing against collateral. Its main appeal is access to Aave-style DeFi lending in a market that requires participant verification. Before committing funds, confirm that your institution can join, what rates and fees apply, and which audits cover the Arc market specifically; those details are not clearly published.

Ratings

How Aave Arc rates

Trust
5.5/10
Track record, licensing, audits and how your funds are held.
Value
5.0/10
Fees, odds, rewards and bonuses: what you get for your money.
Usability
4.5/10
How easy it is to sign up, deposit, play or trade, and withdraw.
Transparency
5.5/10
How clearly the team, terms, fees and risks are disclosed.

Ratings run from 0 to 10 and use only facts we could check. Where the information isn't public we show n/a instead of guessing.

At a glance

Aave Arc key facts

Aave Arc key facts
TypePermissioned DeFi lending market
ChainEthereum
KYCRequired for all participating institutions
TokenAAVE
CustodyAssets held in smart contracts
AuditsTwo listed; Arc-specific scope unclear
Value locked$57.3K−0.0% 7d
Updated

Is it for you?

Who Aave Arc suits

Good for

  • Institutions seeking a KYC-gated DeFi lending market on Ethereum
  • Organizations comfortable with smart-contract lending and overcollateralized borrowing

Not for

  • Individuals looking for permissionless access, since Arc requires institutional KYC
  • Users who need published Arc-specific fees, rates or onboarding instructions before deciding
  • Anyone unwilling to accept smart-contract and collateral-liquidation risks

What can your institution do with Aave Arc?

Aave Arc is a permissioned liquidity market built for institutional participants, rather than the open-access lending experience many people associate with Aave. Participants supply assets to a lending pool to earn interest, or borrow by providing collateral that exceeds the value borrowed. KYC verification is required for every participating institution.

That gate is the central difference for you: Arc is not simply a market to connect to with any wallet. Aave's wider protocol supports supplying and borrowing through smart contracts, but the public Aave product information does not establish exactly how an institution applies for Arc access or which assets are currently enabled in its market. Confirm both with the relevant Arc onboarding contact before arranging funds. AAVE is the associated governance token, but the information about Arc does not establish that you need AAVE to participate.

What could supplying or borrowing cost?

There is no published Arc-specific fee schedule or current rate card in the project information. In lending markets like Aave, suppliers' returns and borrowers' interest costs are generally variable, driven by market utilization and protocol settings. You should therefore confirm the live supply APY, borrow APR, any reserve or origination charges, and the conditions under which rates can change before committing assets.

Ethereum transactions also require gas paid in ETH. Supplying, borrowing, repaying and withdrawing can each involve onchain transactions, so gas can add to your cost. The amount depends on network conditions and transaction complexity; there is no fixed Arc gas price. Ask for the complete cost breakdown for your intended assets and transaction route, and compare the likely interest earned or owed with those costs. Do not treat general Aave rates shown elsewhere as Arc rates.

How much confidence can you place in Arc's safeguards?

Aave describes its lending protocol as non-custodial: supplied tokens are held by publicly accessible smart contracts, not a conventional deposit account. This avoids relying on a bank to hold the assets, but it does not remove risk. Contract bugs, market disruptions, collateral price drops and liquidations can still lead to losses. Aave says its protocol code is open and has undergone multiple audits, and that changes are subject to onchain governance.

Two audits are listed in connection with Aave Arc, but their names, dates and coverage are not specified here, so you cannot tell whether they cover the Arc deployment or every asset and contract involved. Aave's general audit statements should not be taken as proof that every Arc component is risk-free. No Arc-specific licence or incident record is established. Before using it, ask which contracts hold your assets, which audits cover them, and what happens if collateral falls below required levels.

What does joining and using the market involve?

Aave Arc is listed on Ethereum, so interactions with its market take place on that network. You should expect to need an Ethereum-compatible wallet and enough ETH to pay transaction gas, but the Arc-specific wallet requirements and supported institutional custody setups are not published. KYC is required for every participating institution; do not assume that connecting a wallet alone is enough to join.

The regular Aave app and other Aave products are not evidence that you have Arc access. Confirm the Arc onboarding route, wallet or custody requirements, supported assets, and transaction limits before moving funds. No Arc-specific mobile app, transaction speed promise or support response time is established. Ethereum transactions are confirmed onchain, with timing affected by network conditions. For an institutional treasury, also clarify internal approval procedures and how signing authority will be managed before any transaction.

What should you verify before choosing Aave Arc?

Arc's institution-only KYC requirement rules out casual, permissionless access, and the published material leaves important practical questions unanswered. There is no clear Arc-specific schedule for rates, fees, minimums, withdrawal limits, onboarding time or supported assets. Nor is the scope of the listed audits clear. These gaps make it harder to compare Arc with other institutional lending options or model the cost and risk of a position.

Aave's public-facing information describes its broader lending protocol, but that does not confirm the exact state or terms of the Arc market you might be offered. Treat access and market availability as something to verify directly before preparing a deposit. If your institution needs a public licence, insured deposits, fixed returns or a clearly published service agreement, Arc may not meet those requirements. Smart-contract lending is not a bank savings product, and returns are not guaranteed.

5 steps

How to start with Aave Arc

  1. 1

    Confirm that your institution is eligible and ask for Arc's current KYC and onboarding requirements.

  2. 2

    Request the live supported-asset list, supply and borrowing rates, all fees, and any deposit or withdrawal limits.

  3. 3

    Ask for the contract addresses and the audit reports that specifically cover the Arc market and its assets.

  4. 4

    Verify the Ethereum wallet or institutional custody setup required, then test your signing and approval process before moving a material amount.

  5. 5

    Start only after your institution has assessed collateral, liquidation and smart-contract risks and approved the transaction.

Aave Arc FAQs

What is Aave Arc?

Aave Arc is a permissioned DeFi lending market on Ethereum. Institutions supply assets to earn interest or borrow against collateral, but participants must complete KYC verification.

Does Aave Arc require KYC?

Yes. All participating institutions are required to undergo KYC verification. The exact onboarding process and any further eligibility requirements are not published.

Is Aave Arc audited?

Aave's lending protocol uses smart contracts to hold supplied tokens and facilitate overcollateralized borrowing. Aave reports that its protocol has been audited, but the audits listed for Arc are not identified by name or scope.

Which network and token does Aave Arc use?

Aave Arc is listed on Ethereum, and AAVE is the associated token. AAVE is used for protocol governance; its relevance to Arc participation or fees is not specified.

Compare

Aave Arc alternatives

All alternatives

Aave

Lending

Score 7.7 out of 10

Aave offers open crypto lending and borrowing, but variable rates, gas costs and liquidation risk make it best for informed DeFi users.

Ethereum
Aave V3 logo

Aave V3

Lending

Score 7.6 out of 10

Aave V3 offers non-custodial lending and collateralised borrowing, but rates vary and deposits remain exposed to DeFi and liquidation risks.

TVL $15.8B+3.4%Ethereum · Base · Arbitrum +18
Compound V3 logoScore 7.2 out of 10

Compound V3 offers variable-rate crypto lending across several networks, but market terms and liquidation risks require close checking.

TVL $1.25B−3.3%Ethereum · Arbitrum · Base +7
Aave V4 logo

Aave V4

Lending

Score 7.1 out of 10

Aave V4 offers non-custodial lending and collateralized borrowing, but rates vary and smart-contract, market and liquidation risks remain.

TVL $810M+19.1%Ethereum · Arc · Avalanche +1
Euler V2 logo

Euler V2

Lending

Score 7.1 out of 10

Euler V2 offers configurable lending markets across many chains, but check each vault’s rates, liquidity and liquidation rules before depositing.

TVL $267M−0.9%Monad · Ethereum · Base +13
Morpho Blue logoScore 7.0 out of 10

Morpho Blue offers non-custodial lending markets and curated vaults, but rates change and supplied assets face smart-contract, oracle and market risks.

TVL $10.9B−0.4%Ethereum · Base · Robinhood Chain +41

Same category

More Lending dApps

Lending rankings
SparkLend logo

SparkLend

Lending

Score 7.0 out of 10

SparkLend offers governance-set on-chain borrowing rates, but check each market’s live terms and liquidation risks before supplying collateral.

TVL $5.00B+1.1%Ethereum · xDai

Morpho

Lending

Score 6.8 out of 10

Morpho offers variable-rate and fixed-term lending plus curated vaults, but check each product’s fees, terms and risks before depositing.

Ethereum · Base
Euler Finance logoScore 6.8 out of 10

Euler offers flexible crypto lending and market-building tools, but check each market’s fees, collateral rules and risks before depositing.

Ethereum
Nolus Protocol logoScore 6.6 out of 10

Nolus offers fixed-rate, asset-backed spot margin, but check live borrowing costs and liquidation terms before using leverage.

TVL $457K−1.4%Solana · Neutron · Osmosis
Dolomite logo

Dolomite

Lending

Score 6.5 out of 10

Dolomite offers multi-network lending, borrowing, swaps and strategies, but variable rates, liquidation and contract risks call for care.

TVL $142M−19.6%Ethereum · Arbitrum · Berachain +4
NAVI Lending logoScore 6.5 out of 10

NAVI offers variable-rate lending and collateralized borrowing on Sui, but users must weigh liquidation, smart-contract and liquidity risks.

TVL $126M−11.2%Sui

Same chain

More on Ethereum

Ethereum rankings
Lido logo

Lido

Staking Pool

Score 7.8 out of 10

Lido turns staked ETH into liquid stETH, but variable rewards, a 10% reward fee and withdrawal and contract risks need checking.

TVL $21.7B−1.1%Ethereum · Solana · Terra +2
Bitvavo logo

Bitvavo

Centralized Exchanges

Score 7.7 out of 10

Bitvavo offers euro funding, 400+ crypto assets and Pro Mode, but check withdrawal terms and the separate risks of staking and leverage.

TVL $311M−13.3%Ethereum · Bitcoin · Solana +9
Getblock logo

Getblock

Infrastructure

Score 7.4 out of 10

GetBlock suits teams needing multi-chain RPC and data services, but check usage billing, coverage and SLA terms before relying on it in production.

Bitcoin · XRP Ledger · Ethereum +3
Uniswap logo

Uniswap

DEXes

Score 7.4 out of 10

Uniswap offers wallet-based swaps and liquidity pools across 15+ networks, but pool fees, gas and self-custody risks still matter.

Ethereum · Base · Arbitrum +2
Arbitrum Bridge logo

Arbitrum Bridge

Canonical Bridge

Score 7.2 out of 10

Arbitrum Bridge is a direct way to move supported assets between Ethereum and Arbitrum One, but Ethereum withdrawals typically take around seven days.

TVL $3.27B−1.7%Ethereum
Uniswap V2 logoScore 7.2 out of 10

Uniswap V2 enables wallet-based swaps and liquidity provision, but check the pool, network, gas and token risks before you trade.

TVL $865M−5.9%Ethereum · Base · Polygon +14

How we checked

Sources

  1. defillama.com/protocol/aave-arc(opens in a new tab)

Last updated . Spotted an error? Tell us and we will correct it.