Reserve Protocol Review: Should You Use Its DTFs?
Reserve is an open protocol for creating and using asset-backed token baskets called DTFs. Check each DTF’s backing, redemption terms and costs before buying; Reserve does not publish one fee schedule for all products.
By the SkyBitcoins review team · Updated
Quick take
Reserve suits crypto users who want to explore tokenized baskets through on-chain DTFs, with RSR holders also able to participate in governance. Its main appeal is creating or using asset-backed portfolios as tokens across several chains. Before depositing, check the specific DTF’s backing, redemption process, fees and contract security: Reserve does not publish one protocol-wide fee schedule, and its listed audits lack scope details here.
Ratings
How Reserve Protocol rates
- Trust
- 4.8/10
- Track record, licensing, audits and how your funds are held.
- Value
- 5.0/10
- Fees, odds, rewards and bonuses: what you get for your money.
- Usability
- 6.0/10
- How easy it is to sign up, deposit, play or trade, and withdraw.
- Transparency
- 5.5/10
- How clearly the team, terms, fees and risks are disclosed.
Ratings run from 0 to 10 and use only facts we could check. Where the information isn't public we show n/a instead of guessing.
At a glance
Reserve Protocol key facts
| Type | Open protocol for asset-backed token baskets (DTFs) |
|---|---|
| Chains | Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Arbitrum |
| Token | RSR, governance and utility token |
| Audits | Two listed; scope and auditors unspecified |
| Operator | ABC Labs, LLC operates the sites |
| Regulatory status | ABC Labs says it is not registered with financial authorities |
| Value locked | $45.9M−1.8% 7d |
| Updated |
Is it for you?
Who Reserve Protocol suits
Good for
- Crypto users who want to explore on-chain baskets of assets through DTFs
- People comfortable checking a token’s backing, redemption rules and smart-contract risks
- RSR holders interested in protocol governance
Not for
- Anyone who needs guaranteed returns or a stable value from every DTF
- Users who require confirmed direct ownership or shareholder rights in underlying companies
- People who want a published, uniform fee schedule or complete audit details before trying a protocol
What can you do with Reserve’s DTFs?
Reserve is an open protocol for creating and using Decentralized Token Funds, or DTFs: asset-backed baskets represented by tokens. You can use the Reserve app to browse products and, depending on the DTF, mint, redeem or trade tokens. The homepage describes index-style baskets and yield DTFs, and presents examples focused on groups of publicly listed companies. RSR is the protocol’s governance and utility token; Reserve says it is intended to align incentives and support governance.
A DTF is not automatically the same as owning the assets named in its basket. Before buying, read the product’s backing and redemption information and check what legal or economic claim the token gives you. A basket’s value can fall when its underlying assets lose value, and product rules may differ. Reserve’s descriptions are not a substitute for checking the contract and terms for the individual DTF you intend to use.
What will a Reserve DTF cost you?
There is no single published Reserve fee schedule covering every DTF and route. Reserve’s site describes protocol sections for fees, minting and redeeming, but the project details here do not specify current rates. The site also lists access through Kraken, UGLYCASH and Coinbase, describing their fees as low, none and variable respectively. Those labels do not tell you the total cost of a particular transaction, and provider charges can change.
Check the specific DTF’s minting and redemption terms before committing funds. Also account for any exchange or app charges, the difference between buy and sell prices, and blockchain gas where your transaction requires an on-chain interaction. These costs depend on the product, chain and route you choose. Compare the amount you expect to receive with the total amount you will pay, and do not assume that a “no fee” label means there are no spreads or network costs.
How much trust should you place in Reserve?
Reserve says its protocol is open and decentralized, while ABC Labs, LLC operates the Reserve websites and contributes to development. ABC Labs states that it is not a bank, broker-dealer, investment adviser or other regulated financial intermediary, and is not registered with the SEC, CFTC or another financial authority. That is an important distinction if you are looking for a regulated investment provider.
Two audits are listed for the protocol, but the auditor names, dates and scope are not specified in the project details here. Treat that as limited assurance, not proof that a particular DTF or contract is safe. Smart-contract vulnerabilities, changes to backing assets, governance decisions and liquidity problems can all affect what you can redeem and at what value. Reserve also does not publish a comprehensive account of custody arrangements across every DTF and access route. Check the product’s security documentation and redemption mechanism, and only use funds you can afford to lose.
Which chains and access routes can you use?
Reserve lists Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain and Arbitrum. Its homepage examples include DTFs on BNB Chain and Base, so availability is not necessarily identical across networks or products. Confirm the chain shown for the exact token before sending funds; tokens with similar names on different networks may not be interchangeable. You will also need a compatible wallet and enough of the relevant network’s native token to pay gas for on-chain actions.
The site points to the Reserve app and names Kraken, UGLYCASH and Coinbase as other ways to access selected DTFs. Their product availability and costs differ, so check the route you plan to use rather than assuming every product is available everywhere. Reserve does not publish a general transaction-speed promise in the project details here; confirmation times depend on network conditions and the service you use. The homepage also does not establish uniform KYC requirements for all routes, so check the relevant provider’s account and verification rules before signing up.
Who should choose something other than Reserve?
Reserve may suit you if you understand crypto wallets and want to investigate tokenized baskets without assembling each position yourself. It is less suitable if you expect a DTF to guarantee returns, if you need clear evidence of direct ownership in underlying companies, or if you want one published fee schedule and detailed audit records before participating. The project describes a broad goal of making asset-backed baskets, but that ambition does not remove product-level risks.
Before choosing a DTF, read its composition, rebalancing policy, backing, minting and redemption rules, and security documentation. Confirm the chain and route, calculate fees and gas, and check whether the provider is available where you live. Reserve’s site says DTFs are offered through services with different geographic coverage, so access may depend on your location. Do not treat RSR governance or a DTF’s historical performance as a promise of future value.
5 steps
How to start with Reserve Protocol
- 1
Choose the specific DTF and verify its assets, backing, rebalancing policy and redemption rules.
- 2
Confirm the DTF’s chain and decide whether to use the Reserve app or a listed provider.
- 3
Check current fees, spreads, gas costs, geographic availability and any provider verification requirements.
- 4
Review the product’s security documentation and the relevant contract address before interacting.
- 5
Start with an amount you can afford to lose, and keep records of the transaction and token.
Reserve Protocol FAQs
What is Reserve Protocol?
Reserve is an open protocol for creating and using Decentralized Token Funds (DTFs), asset-backed baskets of tokens. Its homepage describes DTFs that bundle assets such as publicly listed company stocks, but it does not establish that holding a DTF gives you direct ownership or shareholder rights.
What is the RSR token used for?
RSR is Reserve’s governance and utility token, intended to align incentives around the protocol. Reserve also describes it as a way to govern and earn fees, but it does not publish a guaranteed return or a fixed fee share for RSR holders.
Which blockchains does Reserve support?
Reserve lists Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain and Arbitrum among its supported chains. The DTF examples shown on its homepage are on BNB Chain or Base, so check the specific product and chain before sending funds.
Is Reserve Protocol audited and safe?
Reserve’s site lists two audits, but the auditor names, scope and dates are not specified in the project details here. An audit does not remove smart-contract, backing, governance or market risk; review the relevant DTF’s security and redemption information before using it.
What fees does Reserve charge?
Reserve does not publish a single protocol-wide fee schedule in the project details here. Its site compares access through Kraken, UGLYCASH and Coinbase, with fees described respectively as low, none and variable; check the current charges, including any network or trading costs, for your chosen route.
Compare
Reserve Protocol alternatives
Chamber offers manager-run onchain vaults, but check each vault’s fees, strategy and possible 24-hour lockup before depositing.
Index Coop offers onchain indexes and automated yield and leverage strategies, but check product costs, risks and token eligibility before using it.
Symmetry offers Solana tokenized baskets and automated strategies, but V3 is in beta and its dynamic fees need checking.
Arch offers Bitcoin and diversified crypto products with bank and wallet access, but fees and custody details need checking before you invest.
Enzyme offers tokenized-fund, strategy and options infrastructure, but confirm fees, custody, licensing and product-specific network support first.
LOCKON offers wallet-based crypto indexes with published fees, but verify network support, current holdings and audit details before depositing.
Same category
More Indexes
Velvet V1 is a non-custodial BNB Chain index product, but confirm its fees, audit coverage and live features before using it.
Bundles packages crypto assets into Ethereum index tokens, but check its undisclosed fees, contract safeguards and exit mechanics first.
Xindex proposes custom crypto index tokens, but its site currently offers a waitlist and leaves fees, contracts and custody unclear.
SoSoValue Indexes offers on-chain spot crypto indexes, but key details on fees, custody and audits need checking before use.
Set Protocol is described as an Ethereum index system, but its listed website promotes ticketing, leaving its current identity unclear.
SoSoValue Basis offers on-chain crypto indexes on Base, but check fees, custody and withdrawal details before using it.
Same chain
More on Ethereum
Lido turns staked ETH into liquid stETH, but variable rewards, a 10% reward fee and withdrawal and contract risks need checking.
Bitvavo offers euro funding, 400+ crypto assets and Pro Mode, but check withdrawal terms and the separate risks of staking and leverage.
Aave offers open crypto lending and borrowing, but variable rates, gas costs and liquidation risk make it best for informed DeFi users.
Aave V3 offers non-custodial lending and collateralised borrowing, but rates vary and deposits remain exposed to DeFi and liquidation risks.
GetBlock suits teams needing multi-chain RPC and data services, but check usage billing, coverage and SLA terms before relying on it in production.
Uniswap offers wallet-based swaps and liquidity pools across 15+ networks, but pool fees, gas and self-custody risks still matter.
How we checked
Sources
Last updated . Spotted an error? Tell us and we will correct it.