Skip to content
Opyn Gamma logo
OptionsActive

Opyn Gamma Review: Is Its Perp Market Right for You?

Opyn Gamma is associated with an options protocol, but Opyn’s current homepage promotes Opyn Markets, a perpetuals trading system. Check that markets are live and that you’re eligible before connecting a wallet or risking funds.

By the SkyBitcoins review team · Updated

SkyBitcoins rating

Quick take

Opyn Gamma is worth investigating only if you already understand DeFi derivatives: Opyn’s current homepage presents Opyn Markets as a perp ecosystem, not simply a conventional options venue. Its appeal is the proposed mix of ERC-20 perp markets, portfolio margin and automated liquidity. Before connecting, verify that your region is permitted, the markets are live, and the terms, fees and audit details meet your needs.

Ratings

How Opyn Gamma rates

Trust
4.0/10
Track record, licensing, audits and how your funds are held.
Value
4.0/10
Fees, odds, rewards and bonuses: what you get for your money.
Usability
3.0/10
How easy it is to sign up, deposit, play or trade, and withdraw.
Transparency
5.0/10
How clearly the team, terms, fees and risks are disclosed.

Ratings run from 0 to 10 and use only facts we could check. Where the information isn't public we show n/a instead of guessing.

At a glance

Opyn Gamma key facts

Opyn Gamma key facts
TypeOptions protocol; current site promotes perps
ChainsEthereum, Avalanche, Polygon
TokenNo token listed
CustodyDescribed as non-custodial
AuditsTwo listed; names and findings unspecified
FeesTrading and vault fees not published
Value locked$935K−1.5% 7d
Updated

Is it for you?

Who Opyn Gamma suits

Good for

  • Experienced DeFi traders exploring perpetual markets with on-chain collateral
  • Users who want to investigate automated market-making vaults and perp liquidity
  • Developers interested in permissionless markets built around ERC-20 pairs

Not for

  • Beginners unfamiliar with leverage, margin calls and liquidation risk
  • Traders who need clearly published fees, audit details or a simple support process
  • People in territories where Opyn restricts access

What can you trade through Opyn Gamma?

Opyn Gamma is identified with an options protocol, but the current Opyn homepage leads with Opyn Markets and the tagline “Uniswap, but for perps.” It describes linear, stable and option-like perpetuals, along with Squeeth/Gamma. In other words, don’t assume the present product is a straightforward options marketplace just because of the Gamma name.

The advertised system lets users deploy perp markets on ERC-20 pairs and describes markets built on Uniswap pools. It also promotes an automated market-making vault, where liquidity providers can earn fees from perp trades. Portfolio margin is presented as a way to use collateral across perps, vaults and Uniswap LP positions. These are complex DeFi products: leverage can magnify losses, and a position can be liquidated if its collateral no longer meets margin requirements. Confirm what the live interface actually offers before depositing or trading.

What could trading or providing liquidity cost?

Opyn describes vaults that earn fees from perp trades, but it does not publish the fee schedule for traders or liquidity providers on its homepage. Funding rates, spreads, gas costs and any vault-specific charges can all affect your results, so don’t treat “earn fees” as a promise of profit. Fees earned by a liquidity vault depend on trading activity and do not remove the risk of losses from its positions.

Before opening a position, check the live market for trading fees, funding payments, collateral requirements, liquidation thresholds and the cost of any transaction. If you’re considering providing liquidity, look for the vault’s strategy, withdrawal conditions and how losses are allocated. Compare the expected costs with the specific market and trade you intend to use; the project’s description of capital efficiency does not tell you what a position will cost.

How much should you trust Opyn with funds?

The project describes Opyn Markets as non-custodial, with no central party controlling user funds, and says its markets are immutable. Those are project claims, not a guarantee that funds are safe: smart-contract bugs, flawed market parameters, liquidation events and vulnerabilities in connected protocols can still cause losses. Portfolio margin also involves off-chain proof generation with on-chain verification, so understand how that design works before relying on it with significant funds.

Two audits are listed, but their names and findings are not specified here. Treat that as insufficient to judge audit coverage: look for the reports, the contracts they cover, their dates and whether identified issues were fixed. The homepage also advertises a bug bounty, but that alone does not establish the security of deployed contracts. Opyn does not list a licence in the facts available for this review, so don’t assume it has regulatory approval in your jurisdiction. Use only funds you can afford to lose.

Which networks can you use, and is access allowed?

Ethereum, Avalanche and Polygon are listed for Opyn Gamma. The current homepage speaks of markets on ERC-20 pairs and integration with Uniswap pools, but that does not confirm which networks or markets are available to use right now. Check the actual app and its contract addresses before sending assets; a token or market mentioned in promotional material may not be live on your chosen chain.

Opyn’s homepage warns users in restricted territories not to connect a wallet. It says attempts to connect, including refreshes, count as strikes and that three strikes can result in a wallet address being blocked. Read the terms and confirm you are allowed to use the service where you live. Do not attempt to bypass restrictions. If access is permitted, start by reviewing the market, collateral and transaction details in your wallet. The homepage does not publish speed or mobile-use information, so don’t assume every action will be instant or equally convenient on every device.

What should you check before trying Opyn?

Opyn’s current pitch is broad: permissionless market deployment, portfolio margin, automated liquidity and perps tied to different kinds of assets. That breadth comes with a learning curve. Leveraged derivatives and cross-asset collateral are harder to assess than a simple spot swap, and an error in choosing collateral, leverage or a market can have serious consequences. A vault’s fee income is not equivalent to a guaranteed return.

The biggest checks before use are whether your region is permitted, whether the market you want is actually live, and what fees, funding rates, margin rules and liquidation mechanics apply. Also look for full audit reports and current contract details rather than relying only on claims of immutability or non-custody. If you need predictable costs, extensive published security documentation or a basic buy-and-hold app, another service may suit you better.

4 steps

How to start with Opyn Gamma

  1. 1

    Read Opyn’s terms and confirm that the service is permitted where you live; do not connect from a restricted territory.

  2. 2

    Check the live app to confirm the network, market and contract addresses are available and match what you intend to use.

  3. 3

    Review the market’s fees, funding, collateral requirements, liquidation rules and any vault withdrawal conditions before committing funds.

  4. 4

    Find and read the relevant audit reports, then test the interface only with an amount you can afford to lose.

Opyn Gamma FAQs

What is Opyn Gamma?

Opyn Gamma is associated with Opyn’s options protocol, while the current Opyn homepage describes Opyn Markets as a perp trading ecosystem. Its advertised products include linear, stable and option-like perpetuals, plus Squeeth/Gamma.

What fees does Opyn charge?

The homepage describes a non-custodial system and automated market-making vaults, but fees for trading, funding and vault participation are not published there. Check the terms and current market interface for costs before making a trade.

Is Opyn safe to use?

The project describes its markets as non-custodial and says portfolio margin uses off-chain proof generation with on-chain verification. Two audits are listed, but their names and findings are not specified here; smart-contract and liquidation risks still apply.

Which chains does Opyn support?

Ethereum, Avalanche and Polygon are listed as chains for Opyn Gamma. The current homepage describes markets built on ERC-20 pairs and mentions Uniswap pools, but check the live app to confirm which markets and networks are currently available.

Can I use Opyn from my country?

The homepage warns that access is restricted in some territories and that attempts to connect from a restricted territory can count as strikes and lead to a wallet address being blocked. Read the terms and confirm your eligibility; do not try to get around geographic restrictions.

Compare

Opyn Gamma alternatives

All alternatives

Bumper

Options

Score 7.2 out of 10

Bumper offers eligible UK drivers up to nine months of 0% car-repair finance, but check the agreement for late fees and repayment terms.

Derive V1 logo

Derive V1

Options

Score 6.4 out of 10

Derive offers onchain crypto options and perps for experienced traders; check its fee schedule and margin rules before funding a wallet.

TVL $134K−0.1%Ethereum · Arbitrum · Optimism
Zomma Protocol logoScore 5.2 out of 10

Zomma offers on-chain calls and puts on zkSync Era and Arbitrum, but verify fees, contracts and audit reports before depositing collateral.

TVL $79.8K−0.0%zkSync Era · Arbitrum
Flat Money V2 logoScore 5.0 out of 10

Flat Money V2 offers options liquidity on Arbitrum and Optimism, but check its unpublished fees, withdrawals and variable-income risks before depositing.

TVL $1.05M−5.2%Arbitrum · Optimism
TYMIO logo

TYMIO

Options

Score 5.0 out of 10

TYMIO offers yield-bearing time-limit orders for ETH, WBTC and USDC, but check its fees, order terms and audit reports before using it.

TVL $197K−1.0%Arbitrum · Ethereum
Rysk V1 logo

Rysk V1

Options

Score 5.0 out of 10

Rysk V1 offers upfront option premiums, but your assets remain exposed to market moves and option obligations.

TVL $193K−0.0%Arbitrum · Ethereum · Hyperliquid L1

Same category

More Options dApps

Options rankings
CallPut logo

CallPut

Options

Score 4.8 out of 10

CallPut offers synthetic crypto and stock options on Base, but unpublished fees and no listed audit make careful checks essential.

TVL $186K+1.9%Base
Premia V3 logo

Premia V3

Options

Score 4.8 out of 10

Premia V3 offers peer-to-pool options on Arbitrum, but check current fees, markets and audit coverage before risking funds.

TVL $65.6K−87.7%Arbitrum
Pods Finance logoScore 4.7 out of 10

Pods Finance offers on-chain options and volatility-focused strategies, but verify the product, fees and contract details before using it.

TVL $389K−0.1%Polygon · Ethereum · Arbitrum
Hegic logo

Hegic

Options

Score 4.5 out of 10

Hegic offers on-chain ETH and WBTC options, but check its trade costs, contract details and limited audit information before using it.

TVL $9.09M+1.0%Arbitrum · Ethereum
Stryke CLAMM logoScore 4.5 out of 10

Stryke CLAMM offers concentrated liquidity for on-chain options, but unclear fees and no listed audits make careful checks essential.

TVL $176K−0.1%Arbitrum · Robinhood Chain · Sonic +3
Flat Money V1 logoScore 4.5 out of 10

Flat Money V1 offers Base-based options liquidity provision, but verify fees, withdrawal terms and audit details before depositing.

TVL $10−1.1%Base

Same chain

More on Ethereum

Ethereum rankings
Lido logo

Lido

Staking Pool

Score 7.8 out of 10

Lido turns staked ETH into liquid stETH, but variable rewards, a 10% reward fee and withdrawal and contract risks need checking.

TVL $21.7B−1.1%Ethereum · Solana · Terra +2
Bitvavo logo

Bitvavo

Centralized Exchanges

Score 7.7 out of 10

Bitvavo offers euro funding, 400+ crypto assets and Pro Mode, but check withdrawal terms and the separate risks of staking and leverage.

TVL $311M−13.3%Ethereum · Bitcoin · Solana +9

Aave

Lending

Score 7.7 out of 10

Aave offers open crypto lending and borrowing, but variable rates, gas costs and liquidation risk make it best for informed DeFi users.

Ethereum
Aave V3 logo

Aave V3

Lending

Score 7.6 out of 10

Aave V3 offers non-custodial lending and collateralised borrowing, but rates vary and deposits remain exposed to DeFi and liquidation risks.

TVL $15.8B+3.4%Ethereum · Base · Arbitrum +18
Getblock logo

Getblock

Infrastructure

Score 7.4 out of 10

GetBlock suits teams needing multi-chain RPC and data services, but check usage billing, coverage and SLA terms before relying on it in production.

Bitcoin · XRP Ledger · Ethereum +3
Uniswap logo

Uniswap

DEXes

Score 7.4 out of 10

Uniswap offers wallet-based swaps and liquidity pools across 15+ networks, but pool fees, gas and self-custody risks still matter.

Ethereum · Base · Arbitrum +2

How we checked

Sources

  1. defillama.com/protocol/opyn-gamma(opens in a new tab)

Last updated . Spotted an error? Tell us and we will correct it.