Comparison · Updated
Gearbox or Save: Which Lending Protocol Fits You in 2026?
Choose Gearbox for broader lending, leverage and tokenised-asset credit options across many chains. Choose Save for a more direct pool-based lending or borrowing experience centered on Solana and Eclipse.
Side by side
Gearbox vs Save at a glance
| Gearbox | Save | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | On-chain lending, leverage and credit products | Decentralized lending and borrowing pools |
| Chains | Ethereum, Etherlink, Monad, Plasma, Hemi, Arbitrum, Optimism, Somnia, Sonic, BNB Chain and Lisk | Solana and Eclipse |
| TVL | TVL varies; the dated figure is not provided | TVL varies; the dated figure is not provided |
| Token | GEAR | SAVE |
| Fees | No general fee schedule published; check each product | Fee schedule not published; check each pool |
| Security and audits | Two audits listed; Gearbox claims 30+ audits and a live bug bounty | Two audits listed; names and scope not specified |
| Ease of use | Product and chain choice add steps; some offerings have eligibility rules | Connect a wallet and compare pool APR and collateral figures |
| Standout feature | Savings, credit accounts, prime brokerage and tokenised-asset infrastructure | Pool-based deposits and borrowing, with pool-level APR and collateral information |
| Best for | DeFi users seeking lending or leverage, and institutions exploring tokenised-asset credit | Solana users seeking lending pools or borrowing against deposits |
| Main risks | Borrowing, leverage, contract and market risks; some products may require KYC or eligibility checks | Smart-contract, market, liquidity and collateral-liquidation risks |
What can you lend or borrow through each protocol?
Gearbox is the broader option if you want to compare savings products, credit accounts or leveraged borrowing, including infrastructure aimed at tokenised assets. It lists 11 chains, but that does not mean every product or asset is available on each one. Its prime brokerage product advertises leverage up to 10×; that is not a guarantee of access or a suitable borrowing level for every account.
Save is more focused: you supply supported crypto to a lending pool or borrow against collateral, with pool-level deposit and borrowing APRs displayed. Its listed networks are Solana and Eclipse. Rates and borrowing capacity can change, and the pool’s collateral and liquidation conditions matter as much as its headline APR. Neither protocol offers a fixed return or removes the risk of losses.
What could lending or borrowing cost you?
Neither publishes a general fee schedule, so you need to inspect the exact market or pool before committing. With Gearbox, check the current lending and borrowing rates, any product or performance charges, withdrawal conditions and network gas costs. If you use leverage, also account for the cost of opening, adjusting or closing positions and the possibility that liquidation worsens your losses.
Save’s pool APRs are also variable rather than guaranteed. Compare the deposit and borrowing rates for your selected pool, then check collateral limits and liquidation rules before borrowing. Transactions on either protocol can incur network costs, which depend on the chain and its conditions. Do not compare a displayed APR as if it were a complete cost or a promise of future returns; confirm the live terms immediately before using a product.
Which protocol gives you stronger grounds to trust it?
Neither is a risk-free place to hold funds, and the audit counts do not settle which is safer. Gearbox lists two audits, while Gearbox claims more than 30, reports spending over $3 million on security, says it has had no breaches or incidents, and describes a live bug bounty. Treat those as project claims and check the audit reports relevant to the contracts and product you plan to use.
Save lists two audits but does not specify their names or scope. Smart-contract faults, market conditions, liquidity constraints and collateral liquidation can cause losses on either platform. Neither is established here as a licensed or insured bank deposit. Gearbox’s tokenised-asset products may also involve KYC, whitelists, jurisdiction filters or account eligibility; confirm the rules for your intended product before sending funds.
Which one is easier to start using?
Save may be easier to start with if you already use a compatible wallet on Solana or Eclipse and want to compare lending pools. Its interface presents figures such as deposit APR, borrowing APR and loan-to-value information. Check the selected network, asset and pool before approving a transaction, and read the pool’s collateral and liquidation terms if you plan to borrow.
Gearbox offers more chain and product choices, but you need to match your intended asset and activity to the right deployment. Its general protocol is described as permissionless, while some tokenised-asset accounts have eligibility rules and prime brokerage is for approved participants. Confirm whether your location, wallet and intended asset qualify. The protocol’s chain list alone does not confirm that a particular market is live on every chain.
What does each protocol do better?
Gearbox stands out for its range: savings, credit accounts, prime brokerage and lending infrastructure for tokenised assets. That can be useful if you need more than a basic deposit-and-borrow pool, or if you are comparing leveraged credit products. The trade-off is that product-specific fees, eligibility and risk terms need close checking; a broad protocol description cannot tell you whether a particular account fits your needs.
Save’s strength is a more direct pool model for crypto lending and collateralized borrowing, particularly if you are already active on Solana. Its displayed pool APR and collateral information gives you practical figures to compare, but rates move and details such as fees and reward mechanics are not fully established. Pick based on the exact supported asset and market, not the token name or headline yield.
Verdict: Gearbox or Save?
Pick Gearbox if you want broader lending and credit options, including leverage, multiple chains and infrastructure for tokenised assets—and are prepared to check product-specific fees, eligibility and liquidation terms. Pick Save if you want a pool-based lending or borrowing route focused on Solana and Eclipse, with APR and collateral figures to compare in the interface. Neither publishes a general fee schedule, and both carry smart-contract and market risks. For either, verify current pool terms and supported assets before supplying collateral or funds.
Frequently asked questions
Which chains do Gearbox and Save support?
Gearbox lists Ethereum, Arbitrum and nine other chains; Save lists Solana and Eclipse. Confirm that your specific asset and product are supported on your chosen network before connecting or transferring funds.
Which protocol has lower fees?
Neither publishes a general fee schedule. Check the current pool or product rates, any applicable charges, network transaction costs and withdrawal conditions before you commit funds.
Which is safer for lending?
Both involve smart-contract and market risks, and borrowing can lead to liquidation. Gearbox lists two audits and claims more than 30; Save lists two audits without publishing their names or scope. Those counts alone do not establish which is safer.
Do I need GEAR or SAVE to use the lending products?
Both list a token: GEAR for Gearbox and SAVE for Save. The information here does not establish that either token is required to use the lending products.