Skip to content

Comparison · Updated

Gate or OKX: Which Crypto Exchange Fits You in 2026?

Choose Gate for a broader advertised asset selection and more trading products in one account. Choose OKX if P2P buying and Web3 tools matter to you, and you’re prepared for its promoted photo-ID verification.

Gate logo

Gate

Centralized Exchanges

Score 5.9 out of 10

TVL $5.86B · 132 chains

OKX logo

OKX

Centralized Exchanges

Score 5.6 out of 10

TVL $28.2B · 24 chains

Side by side

Gate vs OKX at a glance

Gate and OKX compared
 GateOKX
CategoryCentralized crypto exchangeCentralized crypto exchange
Asset selectionPromotes 5,400+ crypto assets; availability varies by locationOffers crypto markets and several trading and Web3 products
ChainsExtensive network support across many chainsSupports Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana and other networks
TVLNot a useful apples-to-apples CEX measure; no dated comparable TVL publishedNot a useful apples-to-apples CEX measure; no dated comparable TVL published
Exchange tokenGTOKB
FeesRates vary by product and account conditions; check the current scheduleRates vary by product and account conditions; check the current schedule
Security and auditsClaims 100% Proof of Reserves; no audit listedAdvertises Proof of Reserves; no audit listed
VerificationKYC rules vary; no single rule for all regions is publishedPromotes photo-ID verification
Standout featuresSpot, margin, futures, options, bots, copy trading and earn productsSpot, derivatives, P2P, bots, copy trading, earn and Web3 products
Best forTraders who want a very broad asset selection and varied trading toolsTraders who want P2P and Web3 tools alongside exchange markets

What will Gate and OKX cost you?

Neither exchange has one simple fee that applies to every activity. Gate’s trading costs can vary by market, product, account level and order type; deposits, withdrawals, fiat payments and conversions may also have separate charges. OKX has a fee schedule, but rates depend on the product and account conditions. Spot trades, derivatives, card purchases and P2P orders can have different cost structures.

For either exchange, check the current fee schedule for the exact transaction you plan to make. Review the confirmation screen too: payment-provider charges, P2P pricing, network fees and conversion rates can affect the final amount. Gate advertises some zero-fee services, and OKX promotes zero-fee conversion, but neither claim means all trading or transfers are free. If you use leveraged products, also account for funding payments and the risk of liquidation.

Which exchange offers stronger protection for your funds?

Neither exchange is risk-free. Gate and OKX advertise Proof of Reserves, which may provide information about assets held against customer balances, but reserve reporting is not deposit insurance or a full audit of a business’s liabilities, controls and finances. Neither lists an audit. Gate claims 100% Proof of Reserves; check what its current evidence covers and whether it can be independently verified. OKX also advertises Proof of Reserves, which you should assess on its own terms.

Both are centralized exchanges. When you leave funds in an exchange account, you rely on that company to secure the assets and process withdrawals. Gate reports approvals for some entities in some jurisdictions, while OKX’s licence details are not specified. That does not establish which entity serves you or whether a product is available where you live. Check the applicable terms, keep only the funds you need for trading on an exchange, and consider self-custody for other assets.

Which exchange is easier to start with?

Neither is a particularly simple choice if you only want a basic buy-and-hold app: both offer advanced products that can make the interface and risks harder to navigate. Gate combines spot trading with margin, futures, options, earn products and automated tools. OKX also offers derivatives, bots, P2P trading, loans and Web3 features. Start with the specific service you need rather than treating every item in either menu as suitable for you.

OKX promotes photo-ID verification, so expect identity checks to be part of its onboarding process and confirm the requirements for your location. Gate does not publish one KYC rule that applies everywhere; check the rules and withdrawal conditions for the entity serving you before funding an account. For either platform, confirm local availability, secure your account and verify the asset and network before transferring crypto. A wrong-network transfer can be difficult or impossible to recover.

What does Gate do better?

Gate’s clearest advantage is breadth. It promotes more than 5,400 crypto assets and brings together spot, margin, futures, options, bots, copy trading, lending, staking and other earn products. If you actively compare coins or trading strategies, having many of those tools under one account may suit you. Gate also supports a wide range of networks, but support is specific to each asset and transaction; always check the deposit page for the exact coin and network.

That breadth can also work against you. Product availability may depend on your country, and complex tools can expose you to losses beyond ordinary spot trading. Gate does not publish one fee covering every product, and its KYC requirements vary by region. Choose Gate for its larger advertised crypto selection and varied trading menu only if you are willing to check the costs, local access and risks for each service you use.

When is OKX the better fit?

OKX stands out if you want P2P purchases or Web3 trading alongside centralized exchange markets. It also offers spot trading, perpetual and expiry futures, options, bots, copy trading, loans and earn products. These choices may be useful if you already know which services you need, but availability can differ by country. OKX supports multiple networks, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Tron, Arbitrum and Base; match the network on both sides before sending funds.

Its promoted photo-ID verification gives you a clearer starting expectation than Gate’s region-dependent KYC rules, but it does not resolve questions about local product access, licensing or fees. OKX’s licence details are not specified, and neither exchange lists an audit. Pick OKX if P2P and Web3 access are priorities and you are comfortable with identity checks. If you need a clearly documented licence or independent audit before depositing, neither exchange is an obvious fit based on what they publish.

Verdict: Gate or OKX?

Pick Gate if you want a very broad advertised crypto selection and a wide menu of trading tools, including margin, futures, options and automated strategies. Check the fees, local availability and account requirements for each product before funding it. Pick OKX if P2P purchases and Web3 tools matter to you, and you’re comfortable with its promoted photo-ID verification. Both exchanges are custodial, advertise Proof of Reserves and list no audit; neither should be treated as a risk-free place to hold crypto.

Frequently asked questions

Is Gate or OKX cheaper?

Neither exchange publishes one fee that covers every product. Check the current rate and final order or withdrawal screen for the market, payment method and transfer you plan to use.

Which exchange is safer?

Both advertise Proof of Reserves, but that is not the same as deposit insurance or a full independent audit. Neither lists an audit, so compare what each exchange’s reserve reporting covers and remember that exchange balances involve custodial risk.

Which exchange requires photo ID?

OKX promotes photo-ID verification. Gate does not publish one KYC rule for every user and region, so check the requirements for the Gate entity serving you before depositing.

Can you self-custody on Gate or OKX?

Both are centralized exchanges, so the exchange controls custody of assets held in your account. For crypto you don’t need to trade, consider a wallet you control and check the receiving network carefully before transferring.