Comparison · Updated
Backpack or Robinhood: Which Crypto Platform Fits You in 2026?
Choose Backpack for a separate self-custody wallet, perpetual futures and eligible US stocks alongside crypto. Choose Robinhood for a simpler combined investing account and a published New York virtual-currency license.
Backpack
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $510M · 29 chains
Robinhood
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $13.7B · 4 chains
Side by side
Backpack vs Robinhood at a glance
| Backpack | Robinhood | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Centralized exchange plus separate self-custody wallet | Centralized brokerage and crypto platform |
| Chains and networks | Wallet supports 20+ chains; exchange deposits support 10+ networks | Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon and Avalanche are listed |
| TVL | Reported figure is undated; not comparable | Reported figure is undated; not comparable |
| Token | BP is listed as a Backpack product | No Robinhood token listed |
| Fees | Crypto fees not specified in the product summary; stock and ETF trading advertised as zero-commission, with possible spreads | Specific crypto fees not published in the product details summarized here; check the fee schedule and order quote |
| Security and audits | Proof of reserves advertised, but coverage and verification method are unspecified; no independent exchange audit identified | NYDFS virtual currency business license; no independent crypto custody audit identified; crypto is not FDIC or SIPC protected |
| Ease of use | Browser and mobile apps; broader wallet and hardware-wallet support | Combined investing app, with crypto trading advertised 24/7 |
| Standout feature | Combines crypto, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and a separate wallet | Combines crypto with stocks, ETFs and other investments |
| Best for | People who want wallet control and multiple trading products in one ecosystem | Investors who want crypto and traditional investments in one account |
| Funding and transfers | USD wire minimum $100; typically 1–5 business days; crypto deposits from 10+ networks | Transfers supported for eligible coins; check the app for available assets and networks |
| Regulatory and insurance details | Eligibility and product access depend on region; exchange balances are not government-insured deposits | Licensed for virtual currency business activity by NYDFS; crypto is not FDIC insured or SIPC protected |
Which is easier to start with?
Robinhood may suit you better if you want crypto trading alongside stocks and ETFs in one account, while Backpack is a stronger fit if you also want a separate self-custody wallet, perpetual futures or eligible US stocks within its broader crypto ecosystem. Robinhood advertises crypto purchases starting at $1 and trading around the clock. Backpack supports a browser and mobile apps, and its wallet supports more than 20 chains and hardware wallets.
Both are centralized services for exchange or brokerage activity, so buying crypto there is not the same as holding it in your own wallet. Backpack’s wallet is a distinct self-custody product; Robinhood supports transfers for eligible crypto. Before sending funds, confirm the exact asset and network on both sides. A network mismatch or incorrect address can result in lost funds.
What will Backpack or Robinhood cost you?
Neither publishes a specific crypto trading fee in the product details summarized here, so compare the current schedule and the total shown before you confirm an order. A quoted price can differ from a market reference price, and a headline claim about commission-free investing does not necessarily mean a crypto trade has no cost. Transfers can also carry blockchain network fees.
Backpack advertises zero-commission trading for real US stocks and ETFs, but says quoted prices may include a spread. Its USD wire funding has a $100 minimum and typically takes 1–5 business days; your bank may charge separately. Backpack also offers debit-card funding, but its card fee is not specified in the product summary. Robinhood’s crypto purchase minimum is advertised as $1. Check any applicable fees and the final quote before funding or trading.
Which is safer for your crypto?
Neither platform makes crypto risk-free. Backpack says exchange balances are not government-insured bank deposits. Robinhood says crypto held through Robinhood Crypto is not FDIC insured or SIPC protected. Robinhood has a New York State Department of Financial Services virtual currency business license; Backpack has not identified a license in its product summary. Neither publishes details of an independent crypto custody audit.
Backpack advertises proof of reserves, but its coverage and verification method are unspecified. Its exchange account is custodial, while its separate wallet gives you control of the private keys; losing the wallet’s recovery phrase can mean losing access. Robinhood promotes multi-factor authentication, but does not detail its crypto custody arrangements in the product disclosures summarized here. If independent audit details or extensive custody transparency are essential to you, neither provides enough public detail to treat that concern as settled.
What does each platform do better?
Backpack’s main advantage is the range of products in one ecosystem: spot crypto, perpetual futures, lending, eligible US stocks and ETFs, plus a separate self-custody wallet. Eligible cash, crypto and stocks can support trading or borrowing through unified collateral. That flexibility comes with added risk: futures can liquidate collateral, Backpack advertises leverage up to 75x, and lending or staking yields are variable rather than guaranteed. Availability and leverage can vary by market and region.
Robinhood’s edge is consolidation for investors who want crypto alongside traditional investments, with 24/7 crypto trading and transfers for supported assets. It does not list a Robinhood token. Choose based on the tools you will actually use, not just the number of products: avoid leveraged trading or variable-yield lending if you cannot afford the potential loss, and confirm regional eligibility before depositing.
Verdict: Backpack or Robinhood?
Pick Backpack if you want a self-custody wallet alongside centralized crypto trading, perpetual futures and eligible US stocks. Its broader wallet network support and hardware-wallet compatibility may also suit you if you want to manage assets outside an exchange account. Pick Robinhood if you mainly want crypto and traditional investments together in one account, with advertised 24/7 crypto trading and a published NYDFS virtual currency business license. Neither publishes a specific crypto fee in the product details summarized here, and neither offers government deposit insurance for crypto. Compare the current costs, transfer options and custody risks before funding either.
Frequently asked questions
Which platform has lower crypto fees?
Neither publishes a specific crypto trading fee in the product details summarized here. Check the current fee schedule and final order quote; transfers may also incur blockchain network fees.
Are crypto holdings insured on Backpack or Robinhood?
No. Robinhood says crypto held through Robinhood Crypto is not FDIC insured or SIPC protected. Backpack says exchange balances are not government-insured bank deposits.
Which platform offers a self-custody wallet?
Backpack has a separate self-custody wallet, where you control the private keys, as well as a custodial exchange account. Robinhood supports transfers for eligible crypto, but it does not offer a separate self-custody wallet in the product details summarized here.
Which platform publishes more regulatory and audit information?
Robinhood has a New York State Department of Financial Services virtual currency business license. Backpack has not identified a license in its product summary; neither publishes details of an independent crypto custody audit.