Comparison · Updated
Backpack or OKX: Which Exchange Fits You in 2026?
Pick Backpack for a mix of crypto, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and a separate self-custody wallet. Pick OKX for a crypto-focused exchange with P2P, bots, copy trading and a broader derivatives menu.
Backpack
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $510M · 29 chains
OKX
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $28.2B · 24 chains
Side by side
Backpack vs OKX at a glance
| Backpack | OKX | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Centralized exchange plus a separate self-custody wallet | Centralized crypto exchange with Web3 products |
| Chains | Broad network support; exchange deposits use 10+ networks, wallet supports 20+ chains | Broad crypto network support, including Bitcoin, Ethereum and Solana |
| TVL | Lower reported TVL; figure date not published | Higher reported TVL; figure date not published |
| Token | BP | OKB |
| Fees | Crypto fees not specified; real US stocks and ETFs advertised as zero-commission, with possible spread | Fee schedule available; rates vary by product and account conditions |
| Security and audits | Proof of Reserves advertised; no independent exchange audit identified | Proof of Reserves advertised; no audits listed |
| Ease of use | iPhone, Android and browser access; separate wallet supports hardware wallets | Photo ID verification promoted; product access varies by region |
| Standout feature | Unified collateral for eligible cash, crypto and stocks, plus self-custody wallet | P2P, trading bots, copy trading and Web3 products |
| Best for | People seeking crypto, perps, eligible US stocks and a separate self-custody wallet | Crypto traders wanting spot, derivatives, P2P and extra trading tools |
| Product range | Crypto, perpetual futures, US stocks and ETFs in eligible jurisdictions | Crypto spot, futures, options, P2P, bots, copy trading and earn products |
Which platform gives you more than crypto trading?
Backpack is the more varied choice if you want to combine crypto trading with eligible US stocks and ETFs, perpetual futures, lending and a separate self-custody wallet. Its unified collateral feature can let eligible cash, crypto and stocks support trading or borrowing. The wallet is a different product from the exchange account: you control its private keys, while exchange balances remain custodial.
OKX is more focused on crypto but offers a wide set of trading options, including spot, perpetual and expiry futures, options, P2P, bots and copy trading. It also promotes Web3 products. Availability can vary by country on both platforms, so check your eligibility before planning around a specific feature. If stocks and a wallet in the same ecosystem matter, lean Backpack. If P2P or a broader crypto trading toolkit matters more, lean OKX.
What will Backpack or OKX cost you?
Neither is the clear low-cost winner from the published product details. Backpack does not specify its crypto trading fees there. It advertises zero-commission trading for real US stocks and ETFs, but warns that quoted prices may include a spread. USD wires have a $100 minimum and typically take 1–5 business days; your bank may charge its own fee. Crypto withdrawals also incur network fees.
OKX has a fee schedule, but costs depend on the product and account conditions. Spot trades, derivatives, conversions, card purchases and P2P orders may use different cost structures. Network charges can apply when you withdraw crypto on-chain, and leveraged products may involve funding payments. For either platform, check the current fee schedule and the final order or withdrawal preview before confirming. Don’t treat a zero-fee label for one product as evidence that every way of funding or trading is free.
Which is safer for your funds?
Neither platform removes the risks of keeping assets with a centralized exchange. Your exchange balance is custodial, so you depend on the company to secure assets and process withdrawals. Backpack’s separate self-custody wallet gives you control of its private keys, but losing your recovery phrase can mean losing access. OKX’s Web3 tools do not change the custody model of your exchange balance.
Both advertise Proof of Reserves, but reserve reporting is not the same as a full independent audit of a company’s assets, liabilities and controls. Neither has an audit listed. Backpack does not identify an independent exchange audit or licence in its product details; OKX’s licence details are not specified. That is a reason to verify current disclosures, not proof of misconduct. Keep only the funds you need for trading on an exchange, and understand that futures can liquidate collateral while lending and earn products carry additional risks.
Which is easier to start with?
Backpack offers iPhone, Android and browser access, plus a separate wallet that supports hardware wallets such as Ledger, Trezor and Keystone. The exchange and wallet do not support identical deposit networks: Backpack lists crypto deposits from 10+ networks while its wallet supports 20+ chains. Check the exact asset and network before transferring. Backpack’s identity-verification requirements are not specified in its product details, so review the registration flow and regional rules.
OKX promotes photo ID verification, and its payment methods and product access can vary by location. It supports card purchases, P2P trading and on-chain deposits, but specific deposit minimums, withdrawal limits and processing times are not published in its product details. On either platform, match the sending and receiving networks exactly and inspect the address before confirming. A wrong network or address can make a transfer unrecoverable.
Verdict: Backpack or OKX?
Pick Backpack if… you want crypto, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and ETFs, and a separate self-custody wallet in one ecosystem. Its broader mix comes with variable lending or staking yields, leveraged-trading risk and fees to verify. Pick OKX if… your priority is crypto trading with P2P, bots, copy trading, Web3 and a wide derivatives selection. Both are custodial exchanges for account balances, and both advertise Proof of Reserves without an audit listed. Check regional access, identity requirements, fees and withdrawal terms before funding either account.
Frequently asked questions
Does Backpack or OKX offer more than spot crypto?
Backpack lists spot crypto, perpetual futures, and US stocks and ETFs in eligible jurisdictions. OKX focuses on crypto, with spot, futures, options, P2P, bots, copy trading and Web3 products.
Which exchange has lower fees?
Backpack advertises zero-commission trading for real US stocks and ETFs, but says quoted prices may include a spread. Neither publishes specific crypto trading rates in the product details; check each platform’s current fee schedule and order preview.
Are Backpack and OKX audited?
Both involve custodial risk when you keep funds in an exchange account, and neither has an audit listed. Both advertise Proof of Reserves, but that alone does not establish that all liabilities are covered or replace an independent audit.
Do you need ID to use Backpack or OKX?
OKX promotes photo ID verification. Backpack’s identity-verification requirements are not specified, so check the registration steps and eligibility rules that apply where you live.