Comparison · Updated
Backpack or Gate: Which Exchange Fits You in 2026?
Choose Backpack for an account that combines crypto, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and a separate self-custody wallet. Choose Gate for a broader crypto catalogue and more trading tools, but expect to check fees, verification rules and regional access carefully.
Backpack
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $510M · 29 chains
Gate
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $5.86B · 132 chains
Side by side
Backpack vs Gate at a glance
| Backpack | Gate | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Centralized exchange plus a separate self-custody wallet | Centralized crypto exchange |
| Products | Crypto, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and ETFs; lending and variable yield | Spot, margin, futures, options, earn, lending, bots, copy trading and more |
| Chains | Supports 20+ chains in its wallet; exchange deposits from 10+ networks | Very broad network coverage; confirm each asset’s deposit network |
| TVL | Undated figure; check current TVL before comparing | Undated figure; check current TVL before comparing |
| Token | BP | GT |
| Fees | Crypto trading fees not specified in its product summary; check the current schedule | Fees vary by product and account factors; check the current schedule |
| Security and audits | Advertises proof of reserves; does not identify an independent exchange audit | Claims 100% proof of reserves; no audits listed |
| Ease of use | Combines several products, but check eligibility, fees and which networks support each service | Broad product menu may be complex for people who only want basic buying and holding |
| Standout feature | Separate self-custody wallet alongside trading and eligible US stock products | Large crypto selection and a broad range of trading tools |
| Best for | People who want crypto, perps, eligible US stocks and a separate wallet | Active crypto traders seeking a wide range of assets and strategies |
| Custody | Exchange balances are custodial and not government-insured deposits | Exchange balances are custodial; reserve claims are not deposit insurance |
Which exchange fits the way you want to trade?
Pick Backpack if you want crypto trading and a self-custody wallet in the same ecosystem, or if eligible US stocks and ETFs matter to you. Its products also include perpetual futures and lending, with eligible cash, crypto and stocks usable as collateral. The wallet supports more than 20 chains and hardware-wallet connections, but that does not mean every wallet asset or network can be deposited to the exchange.
Pick Gate if your priority is a large crypto catalogue and multiple trading styles. It offers spot, margin, futures and options, along with bots, copy trading, staking and other services. Gate promotes more than 5,400 crypto assets, though the assets and products available to you can depend on your location and account. If you mainly want a straightforward place to buy and hold a few coins, either platform’s broader product menu may be more than you need.
What will Backpack or Gate cost you?
Neither publishes a single all-in fee that covers every trade and transfer. Backpack does not specify crypto trading fees in its product summary. It advertises zero-commission trading for real US stocks and ETFs, but quoted prices may include a spread; check the order preview. USD wires have a $100 minimum and typically take 1–5 business days, and your bank may charge its own fee. Crypto withdrawals incur applicable network fees.
Gate fees vary by product, market, account level and order type. Deposits, withdrawals, fiat payments and conversions can carry separate costs, and on-chain withdrawals include network charges. Gate advertises some named services as zero-fee, but that does not make all trading or transfers free. Before funding either account, check the current fee schedule and the final trade or withdrawal screen, including any futures funding payments or other product-specific charges.
Which exchange gives you clearer protection for your funds?
Both are centralized exchanges: when you keep funds in an exchange account, the company controls the wallets and you rely on it to process withdrawals. Backpack’s separate wallet is self-custody, so you control its private keys; losing the recovery phrase can mean losing access. Neither exchange balance is a government-insured bank deposit.
Backpack advertises proof of reserves, but does not specify its coverage or verification method in its product summary, and it does not identify an independent exchange audit there. Gate claims 100% proof of reserves and promotes cold storage, Gate Guard and Gate Vault, but no audits are listed. A reserve claim is not the same as an independent audit or a guarantee of withdrawal access. Review the current reserve evidence and understand what it covers before leaving a large balance on either platform. For either exchange, confirm the correct asset and network before sending funds.
Which is easier to start with safely?
Backpack may be easier to choose if you want an integrated setup: an exchange account for trading and a distinct wallet where you hold the keys. Still, check which products are available in your location and confirm that the asset and network you plan to use are supported for exchange deposits. Backpack’s exchange deposits cover 10+ networks, while its wallet covers more; those are not interchangeable lists.
Gate’s range can suit experienced traders, but the number of products may make it harder to compare costs and risks. Check which Gate entity serves your location, what verification it requires and what withdrawal conditions apply before depositing. Gate does not publish one KYC rule that applies to every user and region. On either service, start by securing your account, checking the deposit details carefully and making a small test transfer when practical. Do not use leverage or variable-yield products unless you understand the risk of loss.
What does each exchange do better?
Backpack’s clearest distinction is the combination of exchange trading with a separate wallet. It supports spot crypto, perpetual futures and eligible US stocks and ETFs, as well as lending and variable yield. Futures can liquidate collateral, and Backpack advertises leverage up to 75x, with availability varying by market and region. Yield is not guaranteed. This mix is useful if you want those different tools together, but it also calls for careful separation of trading, lending and wallet risks.
Gate stands out for breadth within crypto: spot, margin, futures, options, pre-market trading, automated tools, earn products and more. That can help active traders who want different strategies in one account, but it does not make Gate the simpler or safer choice by default. Both require you to check local eligibility and product terms. Choose based on the specific service you need, not the size of a product menu or a reserve claim alone.
Verdict: Backpack or Gate?
Pick Backpack if you want crypto and perpetual futures alongside eligible US stocks and ETFs, with a separate self-custody wallet available for assets you want to control yourself. Pick Gate if you are an active crypto trader looking for a broad asset catalogue and tools such as margin, options, bots and copy trading. Neither is the clear choice for someone who needs a plainly stated fee schedule, independent exchange audit details or default self-custody. Check regional access, current fees, verification conditions and withdrawal rules before you deposit.
Frequently asked questions
Does Backpack or Gate offer self-custody?
No. Backpack offers a self-custody wallet, but funds held in its exchange account are custodial. Gate is also a centralized exchange, so it controls the wallets holding your exchange balance.
Which exchange has a published independent audit?
Neither identifies an independent exchange audit. Gate claims 100% proof of reserves and promotes security features, while Backpack advertises proof of reserves; check what each reserve disclosure covers and how it is verified.
Which one has lower fees?
Neither publishes one fee that covers every product. Backpack does not specify its crypto trading fees in its product summary, and Gate fees vary by product and account factors, so check the current fee schedule and transaction preview.
Which is better for a wider choice of trading products?
Gate promotes more than 5,400 crypto assets and offers a wide set of trading products. Backpack’s appeal is its combination of crypto, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and ETFs, plus a separate wallet.