Comparison · Updated
Backpack or Deribit: Which Crypto Platform Fits You in 2026?
Choose Backpack for a broader trading account with a separate self-custody wallet; choose Deribit for specialist crypto options and derivatives. Both are centralized exchanges, and neither lists an independent audit.
Backpack
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $510M · 29 chains
Deribit
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $3.58B · 5 chains
Side by side
Backpack vs Deribit at a glance
| Backpack | Deribit | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Centralized exchange and separate self-custody wallet | Centralized crypto exchange |
| Products | Crypto, perpetuals, eligible US stocks and ETFs, lending, wallet | Options, futures, perpetuals and spot crypto |
| Chains and funding | 29 listed; exchange deposits use 10+ networks | 5 listed; funding assets include BTC, ETH and USDC |
| TVL | Reported lower than Deribit's; TVL changes | Reported higher than Backpack's; TVL changes |
| Token | BP token listed as a Backpack product | No token listed |
| Fees | Crypto fees not specified; stock trading advertises zero commission, with possible spread | Trading, spread and withdrawal fees not specified |
| Account access | Regional eligibility applies; KYC requirements not specified | KYC required before deposits, withdrawals or trading |
| Security and audits | Proof of reserves advertised; coverage and verification method unspecified; no independent exchange audit listed | No independent audit listed; licensing status not stated |
| Ease of use | Trading app plus separate wallet; offers hardware-wallet support | Website, app, API and test platform; derivatives tools require experience |
| Standout feature | Combines trading and collateral tools with a self-custody wallet | Specialist options tools, portfolio margin and institutional features |
| Best for | People wanting multiple financial products and a separate wallet | Experienced traders seeking crypto options and derivatives |
| Main risks | Variable yield and leveraged futures risk; exchange balances are not government-insured deposits | Up to 50x futures leverage; liquidation risk and mandatory KYC |
What does Backpack offer that Deribit doesn't?
Pick Backpack if you want a wider mix of products: crypto spot markets, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and ETFs, lending, and a separate self-custody wallet. Its unified collateral feature can let eligible cash, crypto and stocks support trading or borrowing. The wallet supports more than 20 chains and can connect to hardware wallets, but its supported networks are not necessarily the same as the exchange's deposit networks.
Pick Deribit if you already understand options and margin and want a specialist venue for crypto derivatives. It offers options, futures, perpetuals and spot markets, alongside tools such as an options wizard, position builder, API and test platform. Its funding assets include BTC, ETH and USDC. Deribit also advertises portfolio margin and institutional tools, which are aimed at more advanced trading needs.
What can trading and withdrawals cost you?
Neither gives you a complete published cost comparison. Backpack does not specify crypto trading fees in its product summary. It advertises zero-commission trading for real US stocks and ETFs, but warns that quoted prices may include a spread. Debit-card funding fees are also unspecified. Crypto withdrawals incur applicable network fees, while bank wires have a $100 minimum and typically take 1–5 business days; your bank may charge its own fee.
Deribit does not specify trading, spread or withdrawal charges in its product information. Check the live schedule for the specific contract and your maker or taker status, then review settlement, funding and withdrawal costs. On either platform, the displayed fee is not necessarily the whole cost: spreads and slippage matter, and leveraged positions may incur funding payments or be liquidated. Check the full cost before placing an order.
Which platform gives you stronger custody assurances?
Neither platform gives you self-custody of funds held in its exchange account. Backpack's separate wallet does put private-key control in your hands, but that control comes with responsibility: losing the recovery phrase can mean losing access. Backpack says exchange balances are not government-insured deposits. It advertises proof of reserves, but the coverage and verification method are unspecified; no independent exchange audit is listed.
Deribit also holds exchange balances centrally, so you rely on the company to safeguard those funds and process withdrawals. It offers account protections such as a two-factor device or security key for wallet operations, but no independent audit is listed and its licensing status is not stated. These details do not prove either exchange is unsafe, but they leave questions to weigh before depositing. Keep only the funds you need on an exchange and secure your account credentials and withdrawal settings.
Which is easier to start with?
Backpack may be easier to approach if you want a general trading account and wallet rather than a derivatives-only toolkit. You can use its mobile apps or browser, and its wallet supports hardware-wallet connections. Still, separate the exchange from the wallet: exchange deposits support 10+ networks, while the wallet supports more than 20 chains. Confirm the exact asset and network shown for a deposit, since a transfer to the wrong network or address may not be recoverable. Check your regional eligibility and current fees before funding the account.
Deribit is less suited to a first-time trader. KYC is required before deposits, withdrawals or trading, and options, leverage and margin models can be difficult to manage. Its test platform and options tools can help you learn the interface, but they do not remove trading risk. Check that your location is eligible, understand the fee schedule and practice with the test platform before risking funds.
What does each platform do better?
Backpack's strongest case is convenience across distinct products: crypto, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and ETFs, lending, and a self-custody wallet sit in one ecosystem. That breadth may suit you if you want several tools and understand that exchange custody, wallet custody, lending and leveraged trading each carry different risks. Yield is variable rather than guaranteed, and futures can put collateral at risk. Its exchange balances are not insured bank deposits.
Deribit's strongest case is depth in crypto derivatives. Experienced traders can use BTC and ETH options, futures, perpetuals, margin choices, analytics and API access. That specialization is not a reason to choose it if you need simple purchases or transparent all-in pricing. Deribit requires KYC and advertises up to 50x leverage on futures, which can magnify losses and lead to liquidation. Choose based on the product you need, not the breadth of a feature list.
Verdict: Backpack or Deribit?
Pick Backpack if you want crypto trading alongside eligible US stocks and ETFs, lending tools, and a separate self-custody wallet. Its wider product mix suits users who want those features together and can keep exchange, wallet and leverage risks distinct. Pick Deribit if you are an experienced trader focused on BTC or ETH options, futures and perpetuals, and want specialist analytics or API tools. Deribit requires KYC and both exchanges keep trading funds in centralized accounts. Neither lists an independent audit, so review custody, fees and regional eligibility before depositing.
Frequently asked questions
Which platform offers more than crypto derivatives?
Backpack offers crypto, perpetual futures, eligible US stocks and ETFs, plus a separate self-custody wallet. Deribit focuses on crypto options, futures, perpetuals and spot trading.
Does Backpack or Deribit require KYC?
Deribit requires KYC before you can deposit, withdraw or trade. Backpack's stated information does not specify its KYC requirements, so check eligibility and account rules for your location before signing up.
Which exchange is safer?
Neither lists an independent exchange audit. Both hold exchange balances in centralized accounts, so neither gives you self-custody of funds held for trading.
Which one has lower fees?
Neither publishes a full set of trading and withdrawal costs in the information described here. Check the current fee schedule and order preview before trading; spreads, funding and liquidation can also affect your total cost.