Comparison · Updated
Backpack or Bitget: Which Exchange Fits You in 2026?
Choose Backpack if you want a separate self-custody wallet alongside crypto, perps and eligible US stocks. Choose Bitget for spot and derivatives trading, copy trading, bots and API tools in a centralized exchange.
Backpack
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $510M · 29 chains
Bitget
Centralized Exchanges
TVL $5.78B · 71 chains
Side by side
Backpack vs Bitget at a glance
| Backpack | Bitget | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Centralized exchange plus separate self-custody wallet | Centralized crypto exchange |
| Products | Crypto, perps, eligible US stocks and ETFs, lending, wallet | Spot, futures, margin, copy trading, bots, Earn, plus other market products |
| Chains | Exchange deposits from 10+ networks; wallet supports 20+ chains | Extensive chain list; confirm asset-specific deposit and withdrawal routes |
| TVL | Dated, comparable TVL not established | Dated, comparable TVL not established |
| Token | BP; utility and terms not specified | BGB; utility and terms not specified |
| Fees | Crypto fees not specified in product summary; real US stocks and ETFs advertised with zero commission, but spreads may apply | Fee schedule published; rates vary by product and account conditions |
| Security and audits | Exchange account is custodial; proof-of-reserves coverage and verification method unspecified; independent exchange audit and licence not identified | Custodial; claims monthly Merkle-tree proof of reserves and a protection fund; proof of reserves is not a full financial audit |
| Ease of use | Mobile apps and browser; wallet can connect to hardware wallets | Mobile app, desktop access and API options; broad product menu may take more learning |
| Standout feature | Trading and collateral tools paired with a separate self-custody wallet | Copy trading, bots, API access and multiple crypto market types |
| Best for | People who want crypto, perps, eligible US stocks and a separate wallet | Active crypto traders who want derivatives, automation or copy trading |
What can you trade on Backpack and Bitget?
Backpack gives you a split setup: a custodial exchange for trading and a separate wallet where you control the private keys. Its exchange includes crypto, perpetual futures and, in eligible jurisdictions, US stocks and ETFs. The wallet supports more than 20 chains and can connect to Ledger, Trezor or Keystone hardware wallets. Keep in mind that wallet support does not mean every asset or network can be deposited to your exchange account.
Bitget is a centralized exchange built around crypto trading. It offers spot and futures markets, alongside margin, copy trading, bots, Earn and API access. It also markets products tied to stocks, commodities and forex, but those may be stock tokens, perpetuals or CFDs rather than ownership of the underlying asset. Product availability depends on location. Pick based on the tools you will actually use, not the length of either platform’s product list.
What will Backpack or Bitget cost you?
Bitget has the clearer fee starting point: it publishes a fee schedule, although the rate depends on the market and your account conditions. Check the rate for the specific spot or derivatives trade, and include funding payments where they apply. Spreads, slippage, withdrawal network fees and payment-provider charges can also affect your total cost. Confirm the asset and network on the withdrawal screen before sending funds.
Backpack advertises zero-commission trading for real US stocks and ETFs, but warns that prices may include a spread. Its product summary does not specify crypto trading fees, so check the current schedule and preview the order cost before confirming. USD wires have a $100 minimum and typically take 1–5 business days; your bank may charge a fee. Debit-card funding is available, but Backpack does not specify the card fee in its product summary. Crypto withdrawals incur applicable network fees.
Which platform gives you more control over your funds?
Both platforms are custodial when you leave assets in their exchange accounts. That means you do not solely control the private keys, and you take on exchange counterparty risk. Backpack says exchange balances are not bank deposits and are not protected by government deposit insurance. It advertises proof of reserves, but does not specify the coverage or verification method. Its product summary does not identify an independent exchange audit or a licence.
Bitget claims monthly Merkle-tree proof of reserves and a protection fund. Those claims can offer information about reserves, but proof of reserves is not the same as a full independent financial audit and does not remove counterparty risk. Neither platform identifies an independent exchange audit in the details summarized here. If you need a self-custody option, Backpack’s separate wallet gives you control of its keys, but you are responsible for keeping the recovery phrase safe.
Which one is easier to start with?
Backpack may feel more straightforward if you want to trade crypto and use a separate wallet without managing copy trading or bots. It is available through mobile apps and a browser, and its wallet can connect to several hardware-wallet brands. Still, the exchange and wallet are different products: verify the exact asset and network shown for an exchange deposit. A mismatch or incorrect address can make a transfer unrecoverable.
Bitget offers mobile and desktop access, plus API tools, but its menu covers many products with different risks. Start by identifying whether you need spot trading, futures, a bot or another product, then read the terms for that specific service. A network appearing in a general chain list does not confirm that every asset can use it for deposits or withdrawals. On either platform, check local eligibility and transfer details before moving funds.
What does each platform do better?
Backpack’s main advantage is combining a trading account with a separate self-custody wallet and collateral features. Eligible cash, crypto and stocks can support trading or borrowing, while the wallet offers a different custody model. That breadth comes with trade-offs: leverage can liquidate collateral, yield is variable rather than guaranteed, and exchange balances are not insured bank deposits. Check the current fees, supported assets and regional eligibility before funding an account.
Bitget is the stronger fit if your priority is a centralized crypto trading toolkit: spot and derivatives, copy trading, bots and API access. Its additional stock, commodity and forex-related products need careful checking because their structure may differ from owning the underlying asset. Neither exchange is a substitute for understanding the risks of leveraged trading. If you do not need the extra tools, avoid choosing a platform simply because it offers more of them.
Verdict: Backpack or Bitget?
Pick Backpack if you want crypto and perpetual futures alongside eligible US stocks and ETFs, and value having a separate self-custody wallet with hardware-wallet support. Check its crypto fee schedule and regional eligibility before depositing. Pick Bitget if your priority is a centralized crypto trading toolkit with spot, derivatives, copy trading, bots and API access. Bitget publishes a fee schedule, but rates and product availability vary. On either platform, verify transfer networks and understand that exchange custody, leverage and non-crypto products carry risks.
Frequently asked questions
Which platform offers self-custody?
Backpack offers a separate self-custody wallet, where you control the private keys, as well as a custodial exchange account. Bitget is a centralized exchange, so assets in your exchange account are held under the platform’s control.
Can you trade stocks on Backpack and Bitget?
Backpack advertises zero-commission trading for real US stocks and ETFs in eligible jurisdictions, though quoted prices may include a spread. Bitget offers stock-related products, but these may be tokens, perpetuals or CFDs rather than traditional shares; check the product terms and local availability.
Which exchange has clearer trading fees?
Bitget publishes a fee schedule, with rates that vary by market and account conditions. Backpack does not specify crypto trading fees in its product summary, so check its current schedule and order preview before trading.
Do Backpack or Bitget publish audits?
Neither platform identifies an independent exchange audit in the details summarized here. Bitget claims monthly Merkle-tree proof of reserves and a protection fund; Backpack advertises proof of reserves but does not specify its coverage or verification method.